Community
The Community Room
The Community Room is a space to have conversations about anything you’d like to discuss with your fellow Engineers, Architects, Designers and basically all community members in here.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

If u could turn back to the beginning what could u done differently when learning?

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
181 Views, 4 Replies

If u could turn back to the beginning what could u done differently when learning?

and what would u tell beginner modelers?

I'm new to Maya and i want an effective learning path that actually work, and I'm trying the video tutorials but i would like to know ways that other people use video tutorials, for example, taking notes dual monitors, etc.

any advice would be a lot of help. so while reading this, take the time to post is only 60 sec out of life.

PS: I know there's a lot of Beginners asking the same question, but don't hate us were just excited to learn.
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

If you want to learn to model, basically the first thing you'll have to learn is polygons. NURBS may also be an option, but they have a much steeper learning curve and aren't as straight forward. Once you get past the basic tools (extrude, split polygon tool), you'll want to start getting into the more advanced ways of creating polygons, such as create face and append tools. After that get a good handle on all the tools and understand the principles of edge loops.

http://wiki.cgsociety.org/index.php/Edge_Loop

Once you have figured out edge loops, the next thing would be to practice, practice, and practice different ways of creating something. Sorry this is such an overview; if you could be more specific on exactly the help you're looking for, we might be able to pinpoint a better answer. Also, Google will be your best friend when learning anything Maya.
Message 3 of 5
Anonymous