Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ObjectARX and VBA

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
foley10x
368 Views, 1 Reply

ObjectARX and VBA

I am working a project in VBA in AutoCAD. I have created an object (via Class Module) that consists of several block references and other properties and methods. I would like to save these objects in the drawing database (persistence). In looking at XRECORD's it seems the class definition needs to be in a referenced DLL. Is their any way to designate a VBA class module as the object definition?

Or a more basic question is how to I add persistence (inside the DWG) to my objects and do I need ObjectARX to do it?

At this point I can do what I need to with XData, but I'm wondering if there's a better way. I expect this project to expand to the point that XDATA (and probably VBA) will not be practical. I've been doing VB 6 and VBA for a while, but I'm new to programing inside AutoCAD.

Thanks in advance
1 REPLY 1
Message 2 of 2
fenton.webb
in reply to: foley10x

If you are comfortable with VBA, stick with it for now - it's a good way into learning how autocad works. With that said, we consider VBA a non-professional API for AutoCAD and we prefer developers move to C# or VB.NET.

To answer your questions: Xrecords don't need an external DLL to use, so there's no worries there. They are built-in container objects, so use them as is. As far as designating a VBA class module as the object definition (deriving from XRECORD?) I don't believe that's possible.

Creating an XRecord and saving it to the DWG will give you your persistence. What you need to decide is where to save it - if it's to be associated with an entity then you will need to create an Extension Dictionary for the Entity and set the Xrecord in there. If it's to be a general container, one that saves drawing settings, etc, then you need access to the Named Objects Dictionary, and that's where you will set the Xrecord.