ObjectARX

ObjectARX

Reply
Active Member
kvenics
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-27-2012
Message 1 of 9 (926 Views)

arx is incompatible with this version of AutoCAD.

926 Views, 8 Replies
11-27-2012 11:42 PM

Hi,

 

I am getting the following error when I try to load the Rational Purify instrumented version of "designer.arx" file:

 

    designer.arx is incompatible with this version of AutoCAD.
AcRxDynamicLinker failed to load 'c:\itf\cadison\system\winnt\designer.arx'
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2013\acad.exeUnable to load designer.arx file.

 

Have following Products installed:

 

AutoCAD 2013
Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 SP1
ObjectARX for AutoCAD 2013

 

Note:  Desinger.arx gets loaded withtout any error if I loaded without istrumenting it with rational Purify.

 

We are in the process of finding memory leaks and need to instrument the arx files.

 

Just checked the "dumpbin /DEPENDENTS"  output for "designer.arx" before and after instrumenting it using the rational Purify. The only diffference is after instrumentation it gets linked with Purify dll (pureRT.dll").

 

Has anyone try to load the Purified version of arx file?

Please let me know how to fix this issue.

 

Thanks in advance.

Pramila

 

Active Member
kvenics
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-27-2012
Message 2 of 9 (921 Views)

Re: arx is incompatible with this version of AutoCAD.

11-28-2012 12:05 AM in reply to: kvenics

Forgot to mention the OS version.

     It is Microsoft Windows XP SP3.

 

--Thanks,

Pramila

 

Distinguished Mentor
owenwengerd
Posts: 671
Registered: ‎08-06-2002
Message 3 of 9 (917 Views)

Re: arx is incompatible with this version of AutoCAD.

11-28-2012 12:41 AM in reply to: kvenics

Purify will not work with AutoCAD. As far as I know, GlowCode (http://www.glowcode.com) is the only profiler that works with ARX modules.

--
Owen Wengerd
ManuSoft
Active Member
kvenics
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-27-2012
Message 4 of 9 (779 Views)

Re: arx is incompatible with this version of AutoCAD.

01-23-2013 10:03 PM in reply to: owenwengerd

ThanksOwen.

 

Is there any work around to make Purify works with the ".arx" files?

 

Did you ever used/tried Glowcode? How is your experience?

 

--Thanks,

Pramila

Distinguished Mentor
owenwengerd
Posts: 671
Registered: ‎08-06-2002
Message 5 of 9 (768 Views)

Re: arx is incompatible with this version of AutoCAD.

01-24-2013 07:36 AM in reply to: kvenics

See e.g. http://otb.manusoft.com/2010/06/glowcode-success-story.htm for my experience with GlowCode.

--
Owen Wengerd
ManuSoft
Active Member
kvenics
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-27-2012
Message 6 of 9 (748 Views)

Re: arx is incompatible with this version of AutoCAD.

01-25-2013 01:03 AM in reply to: owenwengerd

Thakns Owen for the link.

 

Still I am not clear with the process to detect the memory leaks with the .arx files.

 

Please suggest me how to go about it. Our requirement is to detect memory leaks in arx files.

 

--Thanks & Regards,

Pramila

 

Distinguished Mentor
owenwengerd
Posts: 671
Registered: ‎08-06-2002
Message 7 of 9 (738 Views)

Re: arx is incompatible with this version of AutoCAD.

01-25-2013 09:04 AM in reply to: kvenics

Sorry, detecting memory leaks is too complicated a topic for a discussion forum. I recommend to find an experienced programmer to help you.

--
Owen Wengerd
ManuSoft
Active Member
kvenics
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-27-2012
Message 8 of 9 (725 Views)

Re: arx is incompatible with this version of AutoCAD.

01-27-2013 08:11 PM in reply to: kvenics

Owen,

 

I think you didn't get my query.

 

My query is "Does GlowCode provide support for detecting memory leaks in arx files?"

 

 

--Thanks,

Pramila

 

 

Distinguished Mentor
owenwengerd
Posts: 671
Registered: ‎08-06-2002
Message 9 of 9 (719 Views)

Re: arx is incompatible with this version of AutoCAD.

01-27-2013 09:39 PM in reply to: kvenics

Did you read the comments in the linked blog post? I'm afraid I don't have anything else to add beyond what I stated in my comment:

http://otb.manusoft.com/2010/06/glowcode-success-story.htm/comment-page-1#comment-767

--
Owen Wengerd
ManuSoft
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!