ObjectARX

ObjectARX

Reply
Active Member
moon-safari
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-26-2012
Message 1 of 8 (311 Views)

ARX Application - Incompatible

311 Views, 7 Replies
06-28-2012 01:43 AM

I'm trying to load an assembly on AutoCAD startup. It basically is an arx application written in c++, compiled in .NET 4.0. The AutoCAD Version is 2012 with ObjectARX 2012.

When i send the netload command a window with the title "ARX Application - Incompatible" pops up, and it says:

 

"AutoCAD is attempting to load .../xyz.dll which is not compatible with AutoCAD. What do you want to do?"

 

And then i can choose that i want to load it anyway and after it is loaded it all works. So, the Issue here is really just the message and i want to ask if there is a way i can make it disappear. Maybe i can configure my application so that AutoCAD recognises it as compatible or i can somehow suppress the error message? Or maybe someone just can help me understand how it can come to such an incompatibility. Where can i start searching?

 

Thanks in advance.

 

p.s.: i'm not sure if it is the right way to load an arx application. i also tried to use arxload instead of netload but that didn't work either.

Moderator
Alexander.Rivilis
Posts: 1,450
Registered: ‎04-09-2008
Message 2 of 8 (309 Views)

Re: ARX Application - Incompatible

06-28-2012 01:49 AM in reply to: moon-safari

What version of Visual Studio are you using?


Пожалуйста не забывайте про Утвердить в качестве решения! Утвердить в качестве решения и Give Kudos!Баллы
Please remember to Accept Solution! Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Kudos

Active Member
moon-safari
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-26-2012
Message 3 of 8 (304 Views)

Re: ARX Application - Incompatible

06-28-2012 02:20 AM in reply to: Alexander.Rivilis

I'm using Visual Studio 2010

Moderator
Alexander.Rivilis
Posts: 1,450
Registered: ‎04-09-2008
Message 4 of 8 (290 Views)

Re: ARX Application - Incompatible

06-28-2012 05:45 AM in reply to: moon-safari

moon-safari wrote:

I'm using Visual Studio 2010


As far as I know If you try to create mixed-mode ARX-file you have to use VS 2010 with Platform Toolset set to V90 (e.g. VS 2008 SP1 must be installed) and Framework set to 3.5


Пожалуйста не забывайте про Утвердить в качестве решения! Утвердить в качестве решения и Give Kudos!Баллы
Please remember to Accept Solution! Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Kudos

Active Member
moon-safari
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-26-2012
Message 5 of 8 (288 Views)

Re: ARX Application - Incompatible

06-28-2012 06:56 AM in reply to: Alexander.Rivilis

Thanks but how would i do that? I switched to Framework 3.5 and to v90 but than i get an error, that an include file wasn't found. So there is a file called "type_traits" that was refferenced from "acarray.h". That file is apparently not part of the Visual Studio 2008 compiler. Now i can manually copy that file from one "inc" folder to the "other" but then it requestes more files and eventually i end up with an C1189 Error in "xtr1common" because a constant "_HAS_TR1" was not defined.

But would that be the way to go? Or would you suggest to import my Project to Visual Studio 2008 and compile it there? Or do i have to change some configurations in my project to make it work in Framework 3.5?

Moderator
Alexander.Rivilis
Posts: 1,450
Registered: ‎04-09-2008
Message 6 of 8 (286 Views)

Re: ARX Application - Incompatible

06-28-2012 06:59 AM in reply to: moon-safari

moon-safari wrote:

[...] So there is a file called "type_traits" that was refferenced from "acarray.h". [...]


That is why you did not install SP1 for VS 2008. Install SP1 and this error have to disappear.


Пожалуйста не забывайте про Утвердить в качестве решения! Утвердить в качестве решения и Give Kudos!Баллы
Please remember to Accept Solution! Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Kudos

Active Member
moon-safari
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-26-2012
Message 7 of 8 (282 Views)

Re: ARX Application - Incompatible

06-28-2012 08:01 AM in reply to: Alexander.Rivilis

Ah yeah you were right! Ok, so i just installed SP1 and i was able to build my project. Now i tried to netload the dll and the same error occured. When i try to change the fileextension to "arx" and use arxload instead, it seem to work. So could that be an issue too? My problem is, that i actually have another .NET dll that references that ObjectARX dll. To do that, i needed the file extension to be "dll" so that i can add the file in my Projects references. At least i didn't find a possibility to add an "arx" file as reference.

Moderator
Alexander.Rivilis
Posts: 1,450
Registered: ‎04-09-2008
Message 8 of 8 (277 Views)

Re: ARX Application - Incompatible

06-28-2012 01:57 PM in reply to: moon-safari

You have not rename extension from dll to arx in order to load your's file.


Пожалуйста не забывайте про Утвердить в качестве решения! Утвердить в качестве решения и Give Kudos!Баллы
Please remember to Accept Solution! Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Kudos

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.