.NET

.NET

Reply
*sugarsun
Message 1 of 11 (49 Views)

Why the next version of CAD would giveup screenmenu?

49 Views, 10 Replies
12-18-2006 08:59 PM
Hi,all
I just want to do something with screenmenu,but found that next version of
CAD would not support screenmenu anymore which noted in acad_acg.chm. I
don't know why?What could instead of it?
sugarsun
*TomD
Message 2 of 11 (49 Views)

Re: Why the next version of CAD would giveup screenmenu?

12-19-2006 06:34 AM in reply to: *sugarsun
I haven't seen a user with a screen menu up in years.

Pull-downs, tool palettes and buttons, now.

"sugarsun" wrote in message
news:5429758@discussion.autodesk.com...
Hi,all
I just want to do something with screenmenu,but found that next version of
CAD would not support screenmenu anymore which noted in acad_acg.chm. I
don't know why?What could instead of it?
sugarsun
New Member
sugarsun
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-17-2006
Message 3 of 11 (49 Views)

Re: Why the next version of CAD would giveup screenmenu?

12-20-2006 03:28 AM in reply to: *sugarsun
but I think it has a quickly approach to submenu ,neither toolpaletts or pulldowns can faster than it
*TomD
Message 4 of 11 (49 Views)

Re: Why the next version of CAD would giveup screenmenu?

12-20-2006 09:44 AM in reply to: *sugarsun
I honestly do not have an opinion, except that as a user, I would not want
one anymore, either.

wrote in message news:5431293@discussion.autodesk.com...
but I think it has a quickly approach to submenu ,neither toolpaletts or
pulldowns can faster than it
Active Contributor
MillerCADSub1
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎07-18-2006
Message 5 of 11 (49 Views)

Re: Why the next version of CAD would giveup screenmenu?

12-20-2006 02:14 PM in reply to: *sugarsun
This may be a bad question, but what is a screen menu, i have never heard of this before

-Jakob
*James Maeding
Message 6 of 11 (49 Views)

Re: Why the next version of CAD would giveup screenmenu?

12-20-2006 02:16 PM in reply to: *sugarsun
you know, with the abilities of.net now, you could make a palette that looked just like the old screen menu.
I know it takes a programmer to do it, but my point is they are giving more than they are taking.
Its not a bad thing to allow old conventions to be cut, otherwise we end up with too much junk in the program.
I'm curious if you just pick those screen menu items, or do you have slick keyboard patterns for accessing them?
That is the one problem with cutting old methods, many times they were faster than the new graphical methods for
seasoned users.

sugarsun
|>Hi,all
|>I just want to do something with screenmenu,but found that next version of
|>CAD would not support screenmenu anymore which noted in acad_acg.chm. I
|>don't know why?What could instead of it?
|> sugarsun
James Maeding
Civil Engineer and Programmer
jmaeding - athunsaker - com
New Member
sugarsun
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-17-2006
Message 7 of 11 (49 Views)

Re: Why the next version of CAD would giveup screenmenu?

12-20-2006 04:52 PM in reply to: *sugarsun
I know ,maybe it's just a habit,in my country ,the most popluar software with cad for architecture uses screenmenu in main interace ,palette just only can do it in appearance.I want to upload the snap to show it .
*Matt
Message 8 of 11 (49 Views)

Re: Why the next version of CAD would giveup screenmenu?

12-21-2006 12:20 AM in reply to: *sugarsun
See attached bitmap.
One of the first input methods in AutoCAD


wrote in message news:5432212@discussion.autodesk.com...
This may be a bad question, but what is a screen menu, i have never heard of
this before

-Jakob
Active Contributor
MillerCADSub1
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎07-18-2006
Message 9 of 11 (49 Views)

Re: Why the next version of CAD would giveup screenmenu?

12-22-2006 06:24 AM in reply to: *sugarsun
Ah, yea, I've never seen that before, but i can agree with other people on this, whats the point of removing a feature unless it interferes some other feature.

-Jakob
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,698
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 10 of 11 (49 Views)

Re: Why the next version of CAD would giveup screenmenu?

12-22-2006 07:49 AM in reply to: *sugarsun
Bloat.
Its not being used by a majority of the users.
Another piece of code that doesn't need maintenance the next time the object model changes.
----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.