Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Where to Start?

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
RFreund
569 Views, 8 Replies

Where to Start?

I am not a wiz at AutoCAD but have some experience. I do not know how to use lisps and I am a beginner at best in programming. Having said that...

I would like to create a program to automate the process of drawing retaining walls. I would like to create a program in which I can input specific data points (spot elevations) and have lines, text, leaders, etc. and possibly even details generated based on the input. 

I currently use a script from excel for drawing the grade lines. Essentially I input points and the script connects the points. However I need it to do more than this. 

My basic question is where should I start? I seems like there are different choices - .NET, ObjetARX, Lisp, etc. 

I'm not sure if I should try to generate something in excel and try to export and create a .dxf file or if I should try to learn .NET or one of the other 'environments'. I believe I would to create almost a standalone program that can interface or output to Autodesk. 

Thanks!!

www.HowToEngineer.com
Tags (1)
8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
StephenPreston
in reply to: RFreund

From what you say you want to do, I'd suggest you start with Revit - www.autodesk.com/developrevit

If you really want to do this in AutoCAD ... To find resources for starting learning AutoCAD, start with www.autodesk.com/developautocad. I'd suggest you use .NET.

Cheers,

Stephen Preston
Autodesk Developer Network
Message 3 of 9
hgasty1001

Hi,

Try with AutoLISP first, it's a lot easy than .NET, and the only thing you'll need is AutoCAD. AutoLISP has 20+ years, and that means a lot of resources (documentation, forums, examples, and even non trivial complete applications for free) and very aknowledge people wiling to help. Also AutoLISP will help you to obtain a better understanding of AutoCAD internals.