.NET

Reply
ADN Support Specialist
fenton.webb
Posts: 352
Registered: ‎07-24-2007
Message 11 of 24 (390 Views)

Re: Visual Studio Edit and Continue not working anymore

06-25-2013 08:55 AM in reply to: gasty1001

Sorry - Edit and Continue definitely does not work debugging 64bit applications on 64bit Windows. This is a general issue with Visual studio, that is not related to AutoCAD itself.





Fenton Webb

Developer Technical Services

Autodesk Developer Network


Contributor
jacobwilliamscad
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎06-24-2013
Message 12 of 24 (376 Views)

Re: Visual Studio Edit and Continue not working anymore

06-25-2013 09:46 PM in reply to: fenton.webb

Thanks.

 

What about running 32bit AutoCAD on 64bit Windows, is it possible? Has anyone tried?

ADN Support Specialist
fenton.webb
Posts: 352
Registered: ‎07-24-2007
Message 13 of 24 (363 Views)

Re: Visual Studio Edit and Continue not working anymore

06-26-2013 07:29 AM in reply to: jacobwilliamscad

It's totally possible to make AutoCAD 32bit run in Windows 64bit, but we don't support it. Technically speaking I don't see any reason why it wouldn't work as normal - yes, it would certainly solve your edit and continue issue in the debugger. As I have said before, if it solves an issue for you, then go for it.

 

FYI - We don't support 32bit AutoCAD on 64bit Windows because their is a huge effort testing each platform configuration. Because we already have a 64bit version of AutoCAD that runs on 64bit Windows it doesn't make business sense for us to test and QA a scenario that is most likely < 0.01% of our business.

 

 





Fenton Webb

Developer Technical Services

Autodesk Developer Network


Distinguished Contributor
quigs
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎09-30-2008
Message 14 of 24 (360 Views)

Re: Visual Studio Edit and Continue not working anymore

06-26-2013 07:32 AM in reply to: fenton.webb

I'm glad that's been said out-loud as there were a few missleading posts that implied that is was possible.

 

Ta.

My name is Martin.. :smileyvery-happy:
ADN Support Specialist
fenton.webb
Posts: 352
Registered: ‎07-24-2007
Message 15 of 24 (357 Views)

Re: Visual Studio Edit and Continue not working anymore

06-26-2013 07:38 AM in reply to: quigs

Which posts?





Fenton Webb

Developer Technical Services

Autodesk Developer Network


Distinguished Contributor
quigs
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎09-30-2008
Message 16 of 24 (354 Views)

Re: Visual Studio Edit and Continue not working anymore

06-26-2013 07:42 AM in reply to: fenton.webb

I don't know if i got the wrong end of the stick when reading them but it implied I thought that hitting breakpoints on a 64 bit machine was possible.  It was over a year ago.  I can't find them right now but can have a search later if needs be?

My name is Martin.. :smileyvery-happy:
ADN Support Specialist
fenton.webb
Posts: 352
Registered: ‎07-24-2007
Message 17 of 24 (347 Views)

Re: Visual Studio Edit and Continue not working anymore

06-26-2013 09:01 AM in reply to: quigs

Actually, not hitting break points is different topic to this one, but i will say that it's similar in a way because it also occurs while debugging AutoCAD 64bit. The problem is that AutoCAD uses a stack swapping technology called 'Fibers' (Fibers are a deprecated technology from Microsoft which we are working on removing) and fibers do not work well with .NET, and in turn mess up Visual Studio break points on 64bit.

The quickest solution is to set NEXTFIBERWORLD=1, however, the downside with that setting is that multiple document commands will stop working, as will posting commands from the Ribbon.





Fenton Webb

Developer Technical Services

Autodesk Developer Network


Distinguished Contributor
quigs
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎09-30-2008
Message 18 of 24 (335 Views)

Re: Visual Studio Edit and Continue not working anymore

06-26-2013 11:09 AM in reply to: fenton.webb

Is someone from Microsoft watching?  I got this e-mail litteraly 5 mins ago:

 

http://www.microsoft.com/visualstudio/eng/2013-downloads

 

Edit and continue now available for 64 bit. :d.

My name is Martin.. :smileyvery-happy:
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,598
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 19 of 24 (329 Views)

Re: Visual Studio Edit and Continue not working anymore

06-26-2013 11:44 AM in reply to: fenton.webb

fenton.webb wrote:

(Fibers are a deprecated technology from Microsoft which we are working on removing)



Yay!  :smileyvery-happy:

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Contributor
jacobwilliamscad
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎06-24-2013
Message 20 of 24 (313 Views)

Re: Visual Studio Edit and Continue not working anymore

06-26-2013 09:14 PM in reply to: dgorsman

Many tx for all the information.

 

Sorry but I didn't read anything that I wanted to run with, however, further investigation using some of the keywords on this thread unearthed a 'longbow' solution which has now solved my problem. I am now running 32bit 2010, 2013 and 2014 on my 64bit machine (no 64bit versions of AutoCAD at all), with Edit and Continue working fine, and I'm back up and working as before. 

 

tx all

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!