.NET

Reply
Contributor
sardanapalo
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎08-06-2005
Message 1 of 7 (215 Views)

Update object

215 Views, 6 Replies
03-03-2010 04:06 PM
What would it be the ARX.NET equivalent of This VBA line of code

circle.update

for updating a single grapical object on the model space
*Tony Tanzillo
Message 2 of 7 (215 Views)

Re: Update object

03-03-2010 04:29 PM in reply to: sardanapalo
.NET has no equivalent to Update() at the entity level.

The way you do things in .NET makes it unnecessary at
best, and wasteful at worst.

When you modify an object in .NET, you do it in a
Transaction. The Transaction will cause all modified
entities to update when the transaction is committed.

If you are new to .NET, I recommend going through
all of the introductory materials that are available from
Autodesk's website, and elsewhere.

--
http://www.caddzone.com

AcadXTabs: MDI Document Tabs for AutoCAD
Supporting AutoCAD 2000 through 2010

http://www.acadxtabs.com

Email: string.Format("{0}@{1}.com", "tonyt", "caddzone");

wrote in message news:6348340@discussion.autodesk.com...
What would it be the ARX.NET equivalent of This VBA line of code

circle.update

for updating a single grapical object on the model space
Contributor
sardanapalo
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎08-06-2005
Message 3 of 7 (215 Views)

Re: Update object

03-08-2010 12:24 PM in reply to: sardanapalo
My fault for not being more specific.

The problem is that the entity I want to update has not been directly modified during the transaction (I guess). I'm talking of associative dimensions linked to a modified object. I have a modal dialog that controls the shape of a polyline; If I do UpdateScreen after some changes I get the polyline updated but not the associative dimensions. It's only upon dialog closing that the dimensions get updated. I want to avoid this behavior
*Tony Tanzillo
Message 4 of 7 (215 Views)

Re: Update object

03-08-2010 12:34 PM in reply to: sardanapalo
Are you using a transaction, and if so, when it is being committed?

--
http://www.caddzone.com

AcadXTabs: MDI Document Tabs for AutoCAD
Supporting AutoCAD 2000 through 2010

http://www.acadxtabs.com

Email: string.Format("{0}@{1}.com", "tonyt", "caddzone");

wrote in message news:6350811@discussion.autodesk.com...
My fault for not being more specific.

The problem is that the entity I want to update has not been directly modified
during the transaction (I guess). I'm talking of associative dimensions linked
to a modified object. I have a modal dialog that controls the shape of a
polyline; If I do UpdateScreen after some changes I get the polyline updated but
not the associative dimensions. It's only upon dialog closing that the
dimensions get updated. I want to avoid this behavior
Contributor
sardanapalo
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎08-06-2005
Message 5 of 7 (215 Views)

Re: Update object

03-08-2010 12:43 PM in reply to: sardanapalo
Yes, I am, and it is committed before I do UpdateScreen, that's why I get the polyline correctly updated from the dialog.
*Tony Tanzillo
Message 6 of 7 (215 Views)

Re: Update object

03-08-2010 03:02 PM in reply to: sardanapalo
The problem you note has nothing to do with the form.

You can reproduce this bug with nothing more than
a simple command-line based command that modifies
an object associated with a dimension. Even in that
case, after ending the transaction the dimension does
not update. It doesn't update until the command handler
exits.

It's a bug as far as I'm concerned.

--
http://www.caddzone.com

AcadXTabs: MDI Document Tabs for AutoCAD
Supporting AutoCAD 2000 through 2010

http://www.acadxtabs.com

Email: string.Format("{0}@{1}.com", "tonyt", "caddzone");

wrote in message news:6350863@discussion.autodesk.com...
Yes, I am, and it is committed before I do UpdateScreen, that's why I get the
polyline correctly updated from the dialog.
Contributor
sardanapalo
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎08-06-2005
Message 7 of 7 (215 Views)

Re: Update object

03-08-2010 03:12 PM in reply to: sardanapalo
I see, thanks anyway
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.