Did you mean: 

To debug the plugin

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
krisnakumar
453 Views, 4 Replies

To debug the plugin

Hi, 

I am new to Autocad Integration,  Here I have found some tutorial to create a plugin.  I have got the template for creating the Plugin.   However,  I am unable to debug my plugin in the Visual Studio .. 

in the XML file 

<ComponentEntry AppName="Quick Search" Version="3.0.0.0" ModuleName="C:\Users\XXX\Documents\Quicksearch\bin\Debug\Autocad_SearchWidget.dll" AppDescription="This will help to search quickly" LoadOnAutoCADStartup="True" LoadOnCommandInvocation="True">

it is not hitting the  "void IExtensionApplication.Initialize()" method while application starts .. 

Currently, I am using VS2012, 4.5 .net framework, AutoCad 2015

Please guide me, if I am missing anything .. Thanks in advance.. 

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
BrianPruitt
in reply to: krisnakumar

A couple of things to check....
1: Are you using NETLOAD command in AutoCAD? Only when you load the dll will the Initialize method be called.
2: Is Visual Studio in Debug or Release mode. Break points won't be hit if you are running in Release.
Message 3 of 5
krisnakumar
in reply to: BrianPruitt

Thank you Brain for your response,
Yes I can load my dll only using the NETLOAD command in Autocad.. At that time only the initalize method is called ..
I am in debug mode .. After I load my dll using NETLOAD command , I am able to debug..

How to make my assembly to load automatically in Autocad ..
Is there a way to run this NETLOAD command to load the dll on Autocad startup

need help on this . Thanks in advance

Message 4 of 5
BrianPruitt

Yes, you can have the dll loaded at application startup.

I'm using AutoCAD 2015 so I only have experience with it. Having said that, you can create a plug-in package that will be loaded when AutoCAD starts. Check out the help file at http://help.autodesk.com/view/ACD/2015/ENU/?guid=GUID-5E50A846-C80B-4FFD-8DD3-C20B22098008

Regards,

Message 5 of 5