.NET

Reply
Valued Contributor
51 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Post 1 of 6
Accepted Solution

SymBBAuto not working in 2014

445 Views, 5 Replies
06-13-2013 06:17 AM

I am trying to call the following line in VB.net but with the release of 2014 this piece of code no longer works.

 

symbb = odwg.Application.GetInterfaceObject("SymBBAuto.McadSymbolBBMgr.5")

 

Has anyone else experienced this or now of a fix?

 

Scott

Problem solved! Thanks to Wayne with AutoDesk. Turns out that when installing Acad 2014 the symBBAuto did not register. Running "AutoCAD 2014 installation path>\Acadm\enu\symbbautoreg.exe" did the trick. Hope this helps if anyone else encounters this problem.

 

Scott McCoy

Valued Contributor
75 Posts
6 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-03-2003
Post 2 of 6

Re: SymBBAuto not working in 2014

06-13-2013 07:13 AM in reply to: smccoywm

Hello Scott,

 

Have you tried putting an "6" instead of the "5"?

 

Regards,

Luis Alberto Manero, Geograma.com
Valued Contributor
51 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Post 3 of 6

Re: SymBBAuto not working in 2014

06-13-2013 07:35 AM in reply to: smccoywm

Thank you for the reply. I did try 6. In fact I tried all numbers 1 to 9 and no number works.

Valued Contributor
75 Posts
6 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-03-2003
Post 4 of 6

Re: SymBBAuto not working in 2014

06-13-2013 07:44 AM in reply to: smccoywm

I'm not sure but, have you seen this?

 

http://adndevblog.typepad.com/manufacturing/2012/07/sometimes-getinterfaceobjectsymbbautomcadsymbolb...

 

Luis Alberto Manero, Geograma.com
Valued Contributor
51 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Post 5 of 6

Re: SymBBAuto not working in 2014

06-14-2013 09:28 AM in reply to: smccoywm

Luis,

Thank you for the link. I tried to follow the instructions but I get the following error that GetInterfaceObject does not exist in AcadmAuto. That call only exists in basic AutoCAD and I cannot get AutoCAD interop to connect to symBBAuto even though I have sucessfully done it that way in the last 5 releases.

 

mAcmApp = (AcadmApplication)mAcadApp.GetInterfaceObject("AcadmAuto.AcadmApplication.2");

//Get symbol manager     
mSymMgr = (McadSymbolBBMgr)mAcadApp.GetInterfaceObject("SymBBAuto.McadSymbolBBMgr.4");   

 

Scott A. McCoy

Valued Contributor
51 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Post 6 of 6

Re: SymBBAuto not working in 2014

06-26-2013 01:25 PM in reply to: smccoywm

Problem solved! Thanks to Wayne with AutoDesk. Turns out that when installing Acad 2014 the symBBAuto did not register. Running "AutoCAD 2014 installation path>\Acadm\enu\symbbautoreg.exe" did the trick. Hope this helps if anyone else encounters this problem.

 

Scott McCoy

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!