.NET

Reply
Valued Contributor
51 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Post 1 of 6
Accepted Solution

SymBBAuto not working in 2014

436 Views, 5 Replies
06-13-2013 06:17 AM

I am trying to call the following line in VB.net but with the release of 2014 this piece of code no longer works.

 

symbb = odwg.Application.GetInterfaceObject("SymBBAuto.McadSymbolBBMgr.5")

 

Has anyone else experienced this or now of a fix?

 

Scott

Problem solved! Thanks to Wayne with AutoDesk. Turns out that when installing Acad 2014 the symBBAuto did not register. Running "AutoCAD 2014 installation path>\Acadm\enu\symbbautoreg.exe" did the trick. Hope this helps if anyone else encounters this problem.

 

Scott McCoy

Valued Contributor
75 Posts
6 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-03-2003
Post 2 of 6

Re: SymBBAuto not working in 2014

06-13-2013 07:13 AM in reply to: smccoywm

Hello Scott,

 

Have you tried putting an "6" instead of the "5"?

 

Regards,

Luis Alberto Manero, Geograma.com
Valued Contributor
51 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Post 3 of 6

Re: SymBBAuto not working in 2014

06-13-2013 07:35 AM in reply to: smccoywm

Thank you for the reply. I did try 6. In fact I tried all numbers 1 to 9 and no number works.

Valued Contributor
75 Posts
6 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-03-2003
Post 4 of 6

Re: SymBBAuto not working in 2014

06-13-2013 07:44 AM in reply to: smccoywm

I'm not sure but, have you seen this?

 

http://adndevblog.typepad.com/manufacturing/2012/07/sometimes-getinterfaceobjectsymbbautomcadsymbolb...

 

Luis Alberto Manero, Geograma.com
Valued Contributor
51 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Post 5 of 6

Re: SymBBAuto not working in 2014

06-14-2013 09:28 AM in reply to: smccoywm

Luis,

Thank you for the link. I tried to follow the instructions but I get the following error that GetInterfaceObject does not exist in AcadmAuto. That call only exists in basic AutoCAD and I cannot get AutoCAD interop to connect to symBBAuto even though I have sucessfully done it that way in the last 5 releases.

 

mAcmApp = (AcadmApplication)mAcadApp.GetInterfaceObject("AcadmAuto.AcadmApplication.2");

//Get symbol manager     
mSymMgr = (McadSymbolBBMgr)mAcadApp.GetInterfaceObject("SymBBAuto.McadSymbolBBMgr.4");   

 

Scott A. McCoy

Valued Contributor
51 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Post 6 of 6

Re: SymBBAuto not working in 2014

06-26-2013 01:25 PM in reply to: smccoywm

Problem solved! Thanks to Wayne with AutoDesk. Turns out that when installing Acad 2014 the symBBAuto did not register. Running "AutoCAD 2014 installation path>\Acadm\enu\symbbautoreg.exe" did the trick. Hope this helps if anyone else encounters this problem.

 

Scott McCoy

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post