Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Swap titleblock between 2 drawings

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
bsee1
547 Views, 4 Replies

Swap titleblock between 2 drawings

I have 2 files and I'd like to copy a titleblock from a template drawing and use it to replace an existing titleblock on an in progress drawing.  The titleblock on the in progress drawing has attributes, and I'd like to keep them when I put in the new titleblock.  The attribute tag names between the 2 titleblocks are the same.

I do not know the exact names of the titleblocks, only that they contain the words "title block" somewhere in their name.

I've developed for Inventor for a while now, but I'm completely new to AutoCAD.  How might I go about this?

I believe the basic steps would be something like this:

1.  Identify which object to copy from template sheet.

2.  Save that object to memory

3.  Identify object to replace in existing drawing

4.  Copy attributes and get position of existing titleblock

5.  Delete existing titleblock

6. Insert new titleblock and copy in attributes

I've taken the Autocad tutorials, and I've searched for relevant posts on ThroughTheInterface.  Is there someplace else to look which might give a more in-depth example of what I'm trying to accomplish?

Win7 x64 - 16gb ram
i7 3610qm
FirePro M4000

Inventor 2013
ETO 6.1
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
bsee1
in reply to: bsee1

I suppose in my attempt to make a brief question, some might have assumed I wanted someone to write an entire program for me.  I don't.  I'll attempt to clarify which parts I need assistance with.

Right now I'm using this code to copy a titleblock from another drawing.  Is there a way to get the new objectIds of the objects that I just inserted?  Currently they are on a layer that doesn't exist.  My goal is to get the new objectID of the item(s) I just copied, then use the setLayer property.

acCurDb.WblockCloneObjects(objColl, btr.ObjectId, iMap, DuplicateRecordCloning.Ignore, false);