Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simple Program to gather layers and change to different layers

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
adjg13
386 Views, 2 Replies

Simple Program to gather layers and change to different layers

I am just starting to learn C# and .NET and I am trying to write a simple program to gather all the layers from a drawing in a directory, save them to a list, and use that list to change those layers to the appropriate layers. The way I want it to iterate is open the first drawing, gather the layers, ask the user which layer they want to change the original layer to, and when they select the new layer, it associates that old layer with the new layer so that in the future it won't prompt the user, it will just change it to that layer. Then it changes the layers and goes to the next drawing.

I wrote something very simple in LISP, but I need to make it more advanced and try to add in more features. Specifically I would like to be able to do everything in the background, without actually opening the drawings so I can avoid any user prompts or dialogue boxes.

I am at a complete loss at where to start though. There are so many members in the different namespaces for Autocad. Right now I am looking through acdbmgd.dll and acmgd.dll to try and find something useful, but I have no idea where to even start.