Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Select, Re-gen and Plot (by PDF) Code

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
Baz_man1
470 Views, 4 Replies

Select, Re-gen and Plot (by PDF) Code

This is my first time posting here, therefore please forgive my 'newby-ism'.

I was at Autodesk University and took the VB.net course (total = 1.5 hours). After the session I asked one of the course assistants about finding code and he suggested this forum.

I am looking for pieces of the portions stated in the command line.

Once all is pieced together, the routine will allow the user to select .dwg files from one or more folders, call them up, do a REGEN ALL in modelspace and paperspace, and then run the plot command by the default printer (we normally use a PDF generator).

The reason for this is we have drawings that ocntain large raster images combined with both CAD data and connected (i.e. shapefiles) data. The figures lose their draworder and using a batch such as within a sheetset manager does not rememdy this befor eit creates batched PDFs.

Can anybody point me in the direction fo some of this code for me to toy with until I get a complete working routine?

Thanks,

Barry

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
architectOfIdeas
in reply to: Baz_man1

Welcome! How was the course?

I'm assuming the 1.5 hours gave you a very brief idea of how to set up Visual Studio Express and ObjectARX and define a custom command, yeah?

Do you know where all your resources are for looking up information? This is definitely one place, but there are many more.

Be sure to check out Autodesk Exchange for AutoCAD Developer Reference, the MSDN Library for .NET language reference and of course know where your ObjectARX help files are!

To open files, check this out.

To regen a drawing, check this out.

And to plot drawings, check this out.

Message 3 of 5
StephenPreston
in reply to: Baz_man1