.NET

Distinguished Contributor
JanetDavidson
Message 11 of 15 (181 Views)

Re: Responding to the Properties Palette

03-16-2012 07:53 PM in reply to: jeff

Hello Jeff. I am not quite following . I am not a Pro

I will  rephrase the problem. Not a good writer but I do my best.

1- Matt and I don't want to have a constant object.modified event in our applicaton, because of it's overload.

2- Changing a block attribute or a layer , off the properties window doesn't fire any command. If it did we could've catch the start command event and now we could start the object.modiied event.and find what object's being modifed.

Now, how we could catch the entities which have been modified  off the properties window?

Now could you please re-explain what is your suggestion?

Contributor
Mathew.webber
Message 12 of 15 (161 Views)

03-19-2012 02:38 AM in reply to: JanetDavidson

Janet/Jeff,

My solution is to add three handlers to each entity (Modified, Unmodified and Erased). In each of these I record what has happened by storing the entities ObjectId and an Enum describing what happened. This then gies into a collection of object which i then process later. As you have probably seen the AutoCAD will throw a conbination of those changes at which point I only remember the most important of the events for each entity.

At the top of each handler I already do as Jeff suggests and check the CommandName to see if changes need to be process. I.e. 'Save' commands will cause MText objects to refresh however no changes need to be tracked for my data.

I then process the collection in the 'EnteringQuiescentstate' handler, which will only lead to updates if some of my object had added to the collection. So far this is working out well for me, obviously there are redudant calls to the handler, but they have minimum overheads. That said there were also redudant calls when I was using CommandEnded as not all commands would affect my entities. i.e. adjusting an entity elsewhere.