Pre requisites for AutoCAD .NET development

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
DMadhuri
849 Views, 7 Replies

Pre requisites for AutoCAD .NET development

Hi,

I am not sure if this is th right place to post my query or not, but I need some very basic information.

I'm very new to AutoCAD  and Revit but have good experience in woking as a .NET programmer.

I want to know what are the prerequisites for starting  programming on AutoCAD .

Do we need to know  AutoCAD and Revit to start developing addin's or any other stuff

Please let me if there is any site if I can find any information.I have seen many sites giving the infomration of basics on .NET programming for AUTOCAD but no where it states about persons coming from programming background and begining tools for AutoCAD.

Thanks in advance

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8

We have a number of programmers in our office that started out the same way you are (programmer > cadd).

The best advice I can give you is to take an actual ACad course first to get an idea of what is going on. Although you will deal alot with geometry, getting that geometry (the drawing) on screen/paper requires a pretty in depth knowledge of how the CADD system as a whole works. Think of AutoCAD as the operating system you are programming on.

Learning CADD from a book is very hard, you really need someone to show you what is going on (either via instructor or if you work in a CADD environment then users).

Mike Robertson
FL. Dept. of Transportation
CADD Applications Developer
Message 3 of 8

thanks for the answer. I am really planning to take a training of cadd, but do i really need to know the in & out of the subject or  a basic intro is enough.