Mentor
mzakiralam
Message 1 of 3 (407 Views)
Accepted Solution

passing parameter to batch file problem

407 Views, 2 Replies
11-20-2012 07:05 AM

Hi,

I'm new in programming. I need help from expert. I got a problem to pass parameter from VB to batch file. My code is below to run the batch file and to pass parameter.

Private Sub Button4_Click(sender As System.Object, e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button4.Click

Dim input As String

Dim output AsString

input = "C:\batchFile\test.gds"

output ="C:\batchFile\test.dxf"

Dim batchFile As String = "C:\batchFile\LC_gds2dxf.bat"

Process.Start(batchFile, input & ""& output)

EndSub

With this code the output is like below:

Capture.JPG

If you look at the screen shot you can find out that input and output variable is passing to one variable LC_gdsin. But I want that output file location will be assigned to LC_dxfout. I tried a lot but could not able to do that. Can anybody help me in this regard.

I am using VB2010 premium and windows 7 32 bit pc

Thanks

Zakir

If your code is as written, you need a space between input and output - your code shows null (change "" to " ").  Or, you could add a leading space to the strings in Dim. Or, you could create a 3rd string that combines strings 1 & 2 with a space in between.

Create a test batch file and check (echo) that %1 and %2 are recognized correctly.

Echo %1

Echo %2

Thanks a lot, it is working fine now

Valued Mentor
fieldguy
Message 2 of 3 (393 Views)

Re: passing parameter to batch file problem

11-20-2012 08:20 AM in reply to: mzakiralam

If your code is as written, you need a space between input and output - your code shows null (change "" to " ").  Or, you could add a leading space to the strings in Dim. Or, you could create a 3rd string that combines strings 1 & 2 with a space in between.

Create a test batch file and check (echo) that %1 and %2 are recognized correctly.

Echo %1

Echo %2

Mentor
mzakiralam
Message 3 of 3 (388 Views)