Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help with code. I'm new to all this

14 REPLIES 14
Message 1 of 15
phives
715 Views, 14 Replies

Need help with code. I'm new to all this

I'm trying to use this code I founf here in the forum. What I can't figure out is where does it open the drawing and how do I pass it the ObjectID.

PublicSub SetAttribute(ByVal BlockID As Autodesk.AutoCAD.DatabaseServices.ObjectId, ByVal blckname AsString, ByVal AttTag AsString, ByVal AttVal AsString)

Dim MyDb AsDatabase = Application.DocumentManager.MdiActiveDocument.Database

If BlockID.IsNull ThenExit SubTryUsing myTrans AsTransaction= MyDb.TransactionManager.StartTransaction

Dim myBlckRef AsBlockReferenceDim myAttColl AsAttributeCollectionDim myBlckTable AsBlockTableRecord

myBlckRef = BlockID.GetObject(

OpenMode.ForWrite)

If myBlckRef.IsDynamicBlock Then

myBlckTable = myTrans.GetObject(myBlckRef.DynamicBlockTableRecord,

OpenMode.ForRead)

Else

myBlckTable = myTrans.GetObject(myBlckRef.BlockTableRecord,

OpenMode.ForRead)

EndIfIfString.Compare(myBlckTable.Name, blckname, True) = 0 Then

myAttColl = myBlckRef.AttributeCollection

Dim myEnt As Autodesk.AutoCAD.DatabaseServices.ObjectIdDim myAttRef As Autodesk.AutoCAD.DatabaseServices.AttributeReferenceForEach myEnt InmyAttColl

myAttRef = myEnt.GetObject(

OpenMode.ForWrite)

IfString.Compare(myAttRef.Tag, AttTag, True) = 0 Then

myAttRef.TextString = AttVal.ToString

EndIfNextEndIf

myTrans.Commit()

EndUsingCatch ex AsExceptionEndTryEndSub

14 REPLIES 14
Message 2 of 15
Alfred.NESWADBA
in reply to: phives

Hi,

>> What I can't figure out is where does it open the drawing

It does not open the drawing, it uses the active document (currently loaded and activated DWG).

>> how do I pass it the ObjectID

Sorry not to understand that. The answer "you call this sub and transfer the objectid by adding it as the first parameter to the calling line-code" will not be what you are looking for, I guess.

- alfred -