.NET

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
pciganek
Posts: 285
Registered: ‎01-08-2004
Message 1 of 4 (150 Views)

missing "AutoCAD Managed CS Project Application" in C# 2005 Express

150 Views, 3 Replies
05-19-2006 05:43 AM
Hello -

I'm trying to get through a few labs for C# using Microsoft Visual C# 2005 Express. I downloaded and installed the ObjectARX 2006 kit and installed the ArxWizards.msi - but when I start C# there is no template available for an "AutoCAD Managed CS Project Application". Should this be added automatically or do I need to somehow import the template?

tia

Peter
Board Manager
StephenPreston
Posts: 400
Registered: ‎05-22-2006
Message 2 of 4 (150 Views)

Re: missing "AutoCAD Managed CS Project Application" in C# 2005 Express

05-22-2006 04:11 PM in reply to: pciganek
Hi Peter,

The ARX Wizard and associated .NET components aren't designed to work with the Express IDEs, due to limitations of the IDEs themselves.

To setup a new .NET project, you'll need to create a new Class Library project and then reference the AutoCAD managed assemblies (acmgd.dll and acdbmgd.dll).

Even then, I think you'll find using C# Express to create AutoCAD addins to be extremely tedious. This is due to another limitation of the Express IDEs - you can't debug your application as it runs inside AutoCAD from VB Express or C# Express.

Regards,

Stephen Preston
Autodesk Developer Network
www.autodesk.com/adn
Cheers,

Stephen Preston
Autodesk Developer Network
Distinguished Contributor
pciganek
Posts: 285
Registered: ‎01-08-2004
Message 3 of 4 (150 Views)

Re: missing "AutoCAD Managed CS Project Application" in C# 2005 Express

05-23-2006 12:06 AM in reply to: pciganek
Thank you Stephen,

This is unfortunate - as I'd hoped to be able to move to C# programming without any additional investment in software. I suppose that this means that full time architects / part time programmers like me should stick to Vlisp and VBA.

Regards,

Peter
*Paul Richardson
Message 4 of 4 (150 Views)

Re: missing "AutoCAD Managed CS Project Application" in C# 2005 Express

05-23-2006 04:03 AM in reply to: pciganek
To debug in Express editions you need to change the following in file
"Lab#.csproj.user". This .user file is not create by the Express editions
nor were the labs. "Lab#.csproj.user". This can be found in the root
directory of each lab.

c:\AcadRoot\
c:\AcadRoot\acad.exe
Program

Also you need to uncheck "loaderlock" under
Debug->Exceptions->Managed Debugging Assistants.

Now you can debug and step through your code. Since using
the Export Template tool does not maintain references or the
loaderlock setting just use this file as a template.

--
gl - Paul
wrote in message news:5182843@discussion.autodesk.com...
Thank you Stephen,

This is unfortunate - as I'd hoped to be able to move to C# programming
without any additional investment in software. I suppose that this means
that full time architects / part time programmers like me should stick to
Vlisp and VBA.

Regards,

Peter
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.