.NET

Reply
Valued Mentor
Ajilal.Vijayan
Posts: 439
Registered: ‎01-12-2008
Message 1 of 4 (225 Views)
Accepted Solution

Linetype loaded from which File

225 Views, 3 Replies
07-24-2013 04:11 AM

Is it possible to find from which linetype file(acad.lin or acadiso.lin) , the existing linetype definitions (CENTER2) are loaded to the current drawing.

 

We have drawings, some of the linetype definitions are loaded from acad.lin.

Need to reload the linetypes from acadiso.lin.

 

Thanks.

 

Hi,

 

IMHO no way to get the name of the file and even if the filename is stored in the DWG the ACAD.LIN on my system can be different to that from your system.

To verify if the filename exists in the DWG ==> save your drawing as DXF and search for your linetypename and look then to it's contents.

 

Reloading all linetypes makes an update, but might end in wrong linetype scales. To be read here quite often is mixing up linetypes with the same name, once loaded from ACAD.LIN and the other time from ACADISO.LIN. Reloading from the "other file" makes an adjustment of the linetypescale necessary.

 

- alfred -

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,083
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 4 (222 Views)

Re: Linetype loaded from which File

07-24-2013 04:19 AM in reply to: Ajilal.Vijayan

Hi,

 

no, the linetype definition is copied into the drawing and not referenced to the external file.

As a proof: you can load any linetype, then start command _RENAME and rename this linetype to e.g. XXX, so a name for a linetype is defined in the drawing that has no source file (LIN-file) at all.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Mentor
Ajilal.Vijayan
Posts: 439
Registered: ‎01-12-2008
Message 3 of 4 (218 Views)

Re: Linetype loaded from which File

07-24-2013 04:40 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Hi,

 

Thanks for the reply.

 

Yes, once the linetypes are loaded to the drawing there is no reference to the external file anymore.

But I was thinking whether inside the database , is the linetype remember from which file it came.

Not the external file path , just the name.

 

So that a routine can check if one particular linetype is loaded from acad.lin then reload it from acadiso.lin.

 

Or I have to create a routine to reload all the linetype  from acadiso.lin

 

Edited:

 

Looks like not possible ?

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,083
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 4 (209 Views)

Re: Linetype loaded from which File

07-24-2013 04:49 AM in reply to: Ajilal.Vijayan

Hi,

 

IMHO no way to get the name of the file and even if the filename is stored in the DWG the ACAD.LIN on my system can be different to that from your system.

To verify if the filename exists in the DWG ==> save your drawing as DXF and search for your linetypename and look then to it's contents.

 

Reloading all linetypes makes an update, but might end in wrong linetype scales. To be read here quite often is mixing up linetypes with the same name, once loaded from ACAD.LIN and the other time from ACADISO.LIN. Reloading from the "other file" makes an adjustment of the linetypescale necessary.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Announcements
Autodesk Alert | We are currently working on restoring Previous Version License request access in the Autodesk Subscription Center. If you are a subscription customer and would like to request a Previous Version License, please use this link as a temporary workaround. We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for your patience.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.