Iterating through all the Plot Devices

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
Anonymous
571 Views, 3 Replies

Iterating through all the Plot Devices

Hi,

I am trying to iterate through all the Plot Devices (plotDeviceName) available to the user. I am new to vb.Net and I have no idea where to look, any advice or snippet would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

-Jay

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
norman.yuan
in reply to: Anonymous

Look into Autodesk.AutoCAD.PlotServices.PlotConfigManager class. Some code:

public class MyCommands 
    {
        [CommandMethod("PlotDevices", CommandFlags.Session)]
        public static void GetPlotDevices()
        {
            Document dwg = Application.DocumentManager.MdiActiveDocument;
            Editor ed = dwg.Editor;

using (PlotConfigInfoCollection configs = PlotConfigManager.Devices)
            {
                foreach (PlotConfigInfo config in configs)
                {
                    ed.WriteMessage("\nDevice name: {0}", config.DeviceName);
                }
            }
        }
    }

The code prints out all devices' name that you get in the "Plot" dialog box's  ploter/printer dropdown list.

Norman Yuan

Drive CAD With Code

EESignature

Message 3 of 4
Anonymous
in reply to: norman.yuan

Thank you very much Norman, it works like a charm. However, I am still puzzled as to why you used “Using” in you code.

I am trying to understand if there is any benefit to the why you have your code instead of just declaring a variable?

I am new to .net so I am still trying to wrap all of this around my head.

Thank you again Norman,

-Jay

Message 4 of 4
norman.yuan
in reply to: Anonymous