.NET

.NET

Reply
Mentor
SENL1362
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎07-20-2011
Message 11 of 19 (327 Views)

Re: How to set media (papaer) name when plotting to PDF/DWF

05-02-2013 01:53 AM in reply to: norman.yuan

 

in reply to Valued ContributorGrzesiekGP

 

 

W'll use dwg to pdf.pc3 all the time and don't see any problems regarding the quality, but be aware to use the AutoCAD 2010 and higher version.

 

The PDF's created by this PC3 is printed on small format printers like Nashuatec's (C2000, C3000 etc.) and on large format printers like Oce's TDS600, ColorWave 650 without any problem and good enough quality.

 

W'll also add and make (in)visible watermark's to these PDF's.

 

 

Mentor
SENL1362
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎07-20-2011
Message 12 of 19 (320 Views)

Re: How to set media (papaer) name when plotting to PDF/DWF

05-02-2013 02:08 AM in reply to: b612

If you are a beginner -- as we all are/have been -- start with simple programs, like creating entities, selecting entities, get user input etc. 

http://docs.autodesk.com/ACD/2011/PTB/filesMDG/WS1a9193826455f5ff2566ffd511ff6f8c7ca-4875.htm

 

Then if you understand these things move on to the more advanced subjects like plotting.

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/NET/How-to-set-media-papaer-name-when-plotting-to-PDF-DWF/td-p/3608768

Message 5 of 11

 

 

 

Valued Contributor
GrzesiekGP
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎02-03-2012
Message 13 of 19 (315 Views)

Re: How to set media (papaer) name when plotting to PDF/DWF

05-02-2013 02:16 AM in reply to: SENL1362

Hmm, so I don't know what's going on. Maybe I have something configured wrong?

 

Look at the picture - left image has been plotted width DWG To PDF.pc3 driver (AutoCAD 2007). And in my opinion is bad (quality).

Right picture is OK - plotted by any other PDF printer.

 

I tested DWG To PDF.pc3 from AC2014 - it's ok, but I need to support my old AC 2007 computers with good quality of PDF.

Valued Contributor
GrzesiekGP
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎02-03-2012
Message 14 of 19 (311 Views)

Re: How to set media (papaer) name when plotting to PDF/DWF

05-02-2013 02:22 AM in reply to: GrzesiekGP

Image:

Mentor
SENL1362
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎07-20-2011
Message 15 of 19 (304 Views)

Re: How to set media (papaer) name when plotting to PDF/DWF

05-02-2013 02:35 AM in reply to: GrzesiekGP

In older AutoCAD versions the only acceptable quality is only possible with virtual printer driver like PDF Creator.

 

Add custom papersizes (Forms) for non Oce printers using Windows Print Server Properties.

For Oce like printers add papersizes using AutoCAD PC3 files.

 

 

Valued Contributor
GrzesiekGP
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎02-03-2012
Message 16 of 19 (301 Views)

Re: How to set media (papaer) name when plotting to PDF/DWF

05-02-2013 02:38 AM in reply to: SENL1362

I was thinking about this too, but the problem is that I can't export Windows Print Server Properties and import them on other computers. 

 

Entering almost 50 records is terrible :smileyhappy:

New Member
b612
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-16-2013
Message 17 of 19 (300 Views)

Re: How to set media (papaer) name when plotting to PDF/DWF

05-02-2013 02:40 AM in reply to: SENL1362

thanx SENL1362, I tried to do it in C # and it works just to save a format but not when I want to update my layout (for example if I take a dwg another user with different plot).

Mentor
SENL1362
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎07-20-2011
Message 18 of 19 (295 Views)

Re: How to set media (papaer) name when plotting to PDF/DWF

05-02-2013 02:43 AM in reply to: GrzesiekGP

sure you can, export/import registry settings: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Printers

use reg.exe to avoid restrictions.

 

Be aware of the internal ID's of custom formats. They can change and make Named Plot Styles worthless for scripting purposes.

 

Mentor
SENL1362
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎07-20-2011
Message 19 of 19 (291 Views)

Re: How to set media (papaer) name when plotting to PDF/DWF

05-02-2013 02:54 AM in reply to: b612

I can't send you a working C# sample other than the test samples posted before.

Currently w'll still use a VBA solution assigning NamedPlotStyles to Layout's.

All NamedPlotStyles are saved in separated DWG's sorted by plot location (and output type) which will be imported during initialisation of the drawing and assigned to each layout. And this is done again when the format of the layout need to be changed.

 

 

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.