.NET

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,250
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 11 of 13 (110 Views)

Re: How to indicate position of getstring ?

05-03-2012 12:28 PM in reply to: jeffHGCE

Hi,

 

>> how you will handle changing the lengths

Just a short interrupt: have you looked into constraints?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
rebarwin
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-31-2010
Message 12 of 13 (105 Views)

Re: How to indicate position of getstring ?

05-03-2012 11:08 PM in reply to: rebarwin

Thank you very much for your help to all who have answered. This was important for me and now I see solutions for my problem.

 

I am trying them and will go back to this thread to report on the results.

 

Of the solutions that have been proposed, what seems closer is inplacetexteditor using dbtext instead of mtext, as in [CommandMethod("EnterLengthsDbtxt")] . This is because with dbtext you end edition by pressing enter, so it is simpler. With mtext you have to press Ctrl-Enter.

 

REGARDING THE SOLUTION WITH INPLACETEXTEDITOR ( [CommandMethod("EnterLengthsDbtxt")])

I would like a possibility of controlling the navigation keys: for instance when the user presses the up arrow key, the editing focus should go back to the previous segment.

 

REGARDING THE SOLUTION WITH SMALL FORM

This solution was proposed earlier and it would be great since it would also work on older autocad versions. I have 2 difficulties in implementing it:

Problem 1) Manage the navigation keys: When the user presses enter, it should go to the form in the next segment (without needing to press ok button), when the user presses the up arrow key, the editing focus should go back to the form in previous segment.

Problem 2) How to convert from autocad coordinates to screen coordinates needed to position the small form

 

REGARDING THE SOLUTION WITH GETSTRING

It seems the getstring input field appears at the cursor location, it would be enough to be able to change cursor location, but don't know if this is possible or how to do it.

 

REGARDING THE PROPOSAL TO LOOK AT CONSTRAINTS:

>> how you will handle changing the lengths

>Just a short interrupt: have you looked into constraints?

Sorry I don't know what constraints are

 

THANKS FOR YOUR HELP, THIS IS IMPORTANT FOR ME.

JOSE MARIA ESPINOSA

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,250
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 13 of 13 (89 Views)

Re: How to indicate position of getstring ?

05-04-2012 04:30 AM in reply to: rebarwin

Hi,

 

for getting coordiantes:

Within AutoCAD I think you know how to get the coords, for the screen you can use

System.Windows.Forms.Control.MousePosition

to know where you mouse is placed on your screen and so where you have to popup your form-object.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.