.NET

Reply
Active Contributor
btmcad
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎05-09-2007
Message 1 of 4 (365 Views)

How do I make a vb.net program work in multiple AutoCAD verisions?

365 Views, 3 Replies
01-10-2012 07:38 PM

I wrote a program that starts a new drawing, fills out the titleblock, and dumps all titleblock info into an Access database.

This program was developed in VS 2010 by using the Autocad 2012 plug-in template. The program works great in 2012. However, I also need to use it in 2011, but it won't load.

How do I make a program work across multiple Autocad versions?

 

Thanks

 

btmcad

Mentor
SENL1362
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎07-20-2011
Message 2 of 4 (356 Views)

Re: How do I make a vb.net program work in multiple AutoCAD verisions?

01-10-2012 11:48 PM in reply to: btmcad

In general 2 thinks to look for:

1. dependancies, i.e. (the location of) acdbmgd.dll;

2. functionality of the AutoCAD version, tables does not exist in pre 2005 versions.

 

In your case it's probably the path to de acdbmgd.dll.

 

This behaviour is one of the negative issues of .NET against VB(A).

 

*Expert Elite*
GTVic
Posts: 917
Registered: ‎09-07-2004
Message 3 of 4 (325 Views)

Re: How do I make a vb.net program work in multiple AutoCAD verisions?

01-11-2012 12:12 PM in reply to: btmcad

My .NET DLL works from 2007 all the way to 2012 64-bit. I use VS 2008 and debug on AutoCAD 2009 32-bit.

 

Copy Local should be set to false for all dependancies such as acmgd.dll

*Expert Elite*
chiefbraincloud
Posts: 753
Registered: ‎02-13-2008
Message 4 of 4 (321 Views)

Re: How do I make a vb.net program work in multiple AutoCAD verisions?

01-11-2012 12:24 PM in reply to: btmcad

Assuming this is a managed assembly, or at least has some managed code in it, you can build it to the 2010 version files and it will work in 2011, 0r 2012, but you can't build it for 2012 and run it in earlier releases.  I still have some users on 2010 AutoCAD, but some others have already been updated to 2012, and my assemblies still work for everyone, but if I rebuilt for 2012, the people on 2010 would no longer be able to load it. 

Dave O.                                                                  Sig-Logos32.png
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!