.NET

Reply
Active Contributor
Fredrik.Larsen
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎11-28-2012
Message 1 of 3 (458 Views)
Accepted Solution

HelpFile in PackageContents.xml

458 Views, 2 Replies
03-20-2013 02:38 AM

Hi

 

I have created a bundle for my application. The .cuix file is loaded so i see my application in the ribbon, but the application is not loaded until invokation:

LoadOnAutoCADStartup="false"
LoadOnCommandInvocation="True"

 

The problem I have is with the help file. I have added this to the PackageContents.xml: HelpFile="./Contents/Readme.pdf"

 

When hoovering the mouse over my buttons in the ribbon (before I have pushed any of them) and pressing F1 AutoCAD opens either the AutoCAD help or the adobe website

 

When hoovering the mouse over my buttons in the ribbon (after I have pushed any of them) and pressing F1 AutoCAD opens either the AutoCAD help or my help file.

 

Either way it seems to be inconsistent. Since it opens my help file some of the times I know it finds my file, but why does it not work every time?

I'd start by pointing out that PDF files aren't really what AutoCAD is expecting to use for a help file. HTML files are best. If you use HTML files then you can set command specific help tags by using HTML anchors in your HTML help and then referencing them in your <Command> element... e,g,

 

      <Commands GroupName="MY_GROUPTEST">
        <Command Local="TEST" LocalDeu="DasTest" LocalEsp"DeTesty" Global="TEST" Description="Launches test palette" HelpTopic="#Helptopic" />
      </Commands>

 

Once you do this, when you press F1 for a command you will be taken directly to the command help specifically.

 

ADN Support Specialist
fenton.webb
Posts: 352
Registered: ‎07-24-2007
Message 2 of 3 (416 Views)

Re: HelpFile in PackageContents.xml

03-25-2013 09:45 AM in reply to: Fredrik.Larsen

I'd start by pointing out that PDF files aren't really what AutoCAD is expecting to use for a help file. HTML files are best. If you use HTML files then you can set command specific help tags by using HTML anchors in your HTML help and then referencing them in your <Command> element... e,g,

 

      <Commands GroupName="MY_GROUPTEST">
        <Command Local="TEST" LocalDeu="DasTest" LocalEsp"DeTesty" Global="TEST" Description="Launches test palette" HelpTopic="#Helptopic" />
      </Commands>

 

Once you do this, when you press F1 for a command you will be taken directly to the command help specifically.

 





Fenton Webb

Developer Technical Services

Autodesk Developer Network


Distinguished Mentor
BlackBox_
Posts: 785
Registered: ‎02-25-2013
Message 3 of 3 (406 Views)

Re: HelpFile in PackageContents.xml

03-26-2013 07:30 PM in reply to: Fredrik.Larsen

While it doesn't hurt anything, there's no need to specify LoadOnAutoCADStartup="False", as this snippet explains from a well written Autoloader White Paper:

 

[quote]

LoadOnCommandInvocation – Load only when one of your custom commands is invoked. When using this Load Reason, you must include a ‘Commands’ element.  Also, if LoadOnCommandInvocation is enabled, then LoadReasons LoadOnAutoCADStartup  and LoadOnAppearance are assumed to be disabled unless explicitly enabled. Only applies to ARX and .NET modules.

[/quote]



"Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood


Autodesk Exchange Apps ~ Autoloader ~ AutoCAD Security


AutoCAD® 2014, and Civil 3D® 2014 Certified Professional ~ Autodesk® Authorized Developer

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.