Did you mean: 

Help with 6A221957-2D85-42A7-8E19-BE33950D1DEB - Class not registered

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
Greg.Moore
1208 Views, 8 Replies

Help with 6A221957-2D85-42A7-8E19-BE33950D1DEB - Class not registered

Forgive me, I'm a rather complete newbie to this, so I may be barking up the wrong tree, or asking in the wrong place, but here goes.

I've been tasked with updating an in-house app, originally written in VB6, now being maintained in VB.NET (Visual Studio 2010).

First thing I need to do is to be able to simply open a Autocad file when the user clicks on a button. (Note, this functionality works in the older code, with Autocad 2009).

So far I have:

Imports Autodesk.AutoCAD.Interop.Common
Imports Autodesk.AutoCAD.Interop

Public AcadDoc As AutoCAD.Interop.AcadDocument = New AutoCAD.Interop.AcadDocument
Public ACADapp As AutoCAD.Interop.AcadApplication = New AutoCAD.Interop.AcadApplication
Public ACADmod As AutoCAD.Interop.Common.AcadModelSpace = New AutoCAD.Interop.Common.AcadModelSpace

This breaks however before I even get to the code to do anything.  The first declaration fails with:

Retrieving the COM class factory for component with CLSID {6A221957-2D85-42A7-8E19-BE33950D1DEB} failed due to the following error: 80040154 Class not registered (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80040154 (REGDB_E_CLASSNOTREG)).

My first guess would be needing to register the DLLs, but when I try, I get an error:

The module Autodesk.AutoCad.Interop.Commonl.dll was loaded, but the entry-poin DLLRegisterServer was not found, etc.

I have Autodesk Inventor 2013 on machine, but the users will have Autocad 2013 itself installed.

I have alos downloaded and installed ObjectARX 2013 (and in fact that's where the DLLs are being loaded from in theory.)

I'm assuming I'm making a rookie mistake here.

(I'm also unclear if this is the proper way moving forward or if the newer dlls with 2013 should be used instead.)

Thanks for any help you can give.