.NET

Reply
Active Contributor pfk
Active Contributor
pfk
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎02-11-2013
Message 1 of 4 (223 Views)
Accepted Solution

Get the currently selected geometry

223 Views, 3 Replies
10-12-2013 03:14 PM

Hi

 

Is it possible to get a selection set for the currently selected geometry?  If I use the EditorInput selection functions, the user is asked to select an item, however I want the item(s) that has already been selected prior to running the plugin.

 

Thanks

Valued Mentor
Ajilal.Vijayan
Posts: 440
Registered: ‎01-12-2008
Message 2 of 4 (204 Views)

Re: Get the currently selected geometry

10-12-2013 10:22 PM in reply to: pfk
Active Contributor pfk
Active Contributor
pfk
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎02-11-2013
Message 3 of 4 (143 Views)

Re: Get the currently selected geometry

10-17-2013 09:28 PM in reply to: Ajilal.Vijayan

Thank you for the link - it certainly helps.  However there are still some challenges in this area - particularly when debugging.  I am finding that the ed_SelectionAdded and ed_SelectionRemoved events need to be treated carefully.  My code for SelectionAdded fills a combobox with the names of items that have been selected, and the combobox.add method seems to trigger another ed_SelectionAdded event leading to some nasty recursion.  Or it couldn't be the debug breakpoints causing this.  Regardless - the VS debugger ends up locking and finding to root cause is difficult.

 

Paul

Active Contributor pfk
Active Contributor
pfk
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎02-11-2013
Message 4 of 4 (142 Views)

Re: Get the currently selected geometry

10-17-2013 09:34 PM in reply to: pfk

EDIT: The solution to this recusion is to set a "dirty" flag in the ed_SelectionAdded event, and then Application_Idle event.

 

Paul

 

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.