.NET

.NET

Reply
Contributor
GeorgeKamieniecki
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-27-2011
Message 1 of 6 (368 Views)

Format problem with .net for datalinking Excel to AutoCad table

368 Views, 5 Replies
08-06-2012 01:12 PM

I am able to interactively create a table in AutoCad by defining a datalink to an Excel file. The table is creates with the varying row heights and varying column widths set up in Excel.

I have attempted to do the same using vb.net based on code examples from 'Through the Interface'.The Excel formatting is ignored and the resulting table width is very narrow and table height is huge.

Is there an option that I may have overlooked that forces the Excel formatting? I have set the table style to use Excel formatting without success.

 

Any help greatly appreciated

Mentor
khoa.ho
Posts: 209
Registered: ‎09-15-2011
Message 2 of 6 (353 Views)

Re: Format problem with .net for datalinking Excel to AutoCad table

08-06-2012 02:29 PM in reply to: GeorgeKamieniecki

It will work if we use UpdateOption.UpdateColumnWidth and UpdateOption.UpdateRowWidth on update datalink. The code from "Through the Interface" (http://through-the-interface.typepad.com/through_the_interface/2007/08/creating-an-aut.html) can be rewritten as:

 

[CommandMethod("TFS")]
public static void TableFromSpreadsheet()
{
    // Hardcoding the string
    // Could also select for it
    const string dlName = "Import table from Excel demo";

    Document doc = Application.DocumentManager.MdiActiveDocument;
    Database db = doc.Database;
    Editor ed = doc.Editor;

    OpenFileDialog ofd =
        new OpenFileDialog(
            "Select Excel spreadsheet to link",
            null,
            "xls; xlsx",
            "ExcelFileToLink",
            OpenFileDialog.OpenFileDialogFlags.DoNotTransferRemoteFiles
            );

    DialogResult dr = ofd.ShowDialog();

    if (dr != System.Windows.Forms.DialogResult.OK)
        return;

    ed.WriteMessage("\nFile selected was \"{0}\".", ofd.Filename);

    PromptPointResult ppr = ed.GetPoint("\nEnter table insertion point: ");
    if (ppr.Status != PromptStatus.OK)
        return;

    // Remove the Data Link, if it exists already
    DataLinkManager dlm = db.DataLinkManager;

    ObjectId dlId = dlm.GetDataLink(dlName);

    if (dlId != ObjectId.Null)
    {
        dlm.RemoveDataLink(dlId);
    }

    // Create and add the Data Link
    DataLink dl = new DataLink
        {
            DataAdapterId = "AcExcel",
            Name = dlName,
            Description = "Excel fun with Through the Interface",
            ConnectionString = ofd.Filename,
            DataLinkOption = DataLinkOption.PersistCache
        };
    dl.UpdateOption |= (int)UpdateOption.AllowSourceUpdate;

    dlId = dlm.AddDataLink(dl);
    Transaction tr = doc.TransactionManager.StartTransaction();
    using (tr)
    {
        tr.AddNewlyCreatedDBObject(dl, true);
        BlockTable bt = (BlockTable)tr.GetObject(db.BlockTableId, OpenMode.ForRead);

        Table tb = new Table { TableStyle = db.Tablestyle, Position = ppr.Value };
        tb.SetDataLink(0, 0, dlId, true);
        tb.UpdateDataLink(UpdateDirection.SourceToData, UpdateOption.UpdateColumnWidth | UpdateOption.UpdateRowHeight);
        tb.GenerateLayout();


        BlockTableRecord btr = (BlockTableRecord)tr.GetObject(db.CurrentSpaceId, OpenMode.ForWrite);
        btr.AppendEntity(tb);
        tr.AddNewlyCreatedDBObject(tb, true);
        tr.Commit();
    }

    // Force a regen to display the table
    ed.Regen();
}

 

-Khoa

*Expert Elite*
Hallex
Posts: 1,569
Registered: ‎10-08-2008
Message 3 of 6 (341 Views)

Re: Format problem with .net for datalinking Excel to AutoCad table

08-06-2012 02:41 PM in reply to: GeorgeKamieniecki

In Excel you may want to use:

// Acad 2010 //

oTable.SetColumnWidth(width);

oTable.SetRowHeight(height);

 

~'J'~

 

_____________________________________
C6309D9E0751D165D0934D0621DFF27919
Contributor
GeorgeKamieniecki
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-27-2011
Message 4 of 6 (323 Views)

Re: Format problem with .net for datalinking Excel to AutoCad table

08-07-2012 12:46 AM in reply to: GeorgeKamieniecki

Many thanks - that really did solve the problem.

Contributor
GeorgeKamieniecki
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-27-2011
Message 5 of 6 (323 Views)

Re: Format problem with .net for datalinking Excel to AutoCad table

08-07-2012 12:47 AM in reply to: Hallex

Thanks for your input - That works OK for uniform row height and column width.

Mentor
khoa.ho
Posts: 209
Registered: ‎09-15-2011
Message 6 of 6 (301 Views)

Re: Format problem with .net for datalinking Excel to AutoCad table

08-07-2012 06:56 AM in reply to: GeorgeKamieniecki

You are welcome. I am happy that it works for you as it works on my side.

 

-Khoa

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.