Did you mean: 

Fire Off Custom Command from COM

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
mthomasTsa
350 Views, 1 Reply

Fire Off Custom Command from COM

Hey everybody!

For starters, I want to say that I am rather new to the world of Autocad programming although I am experienced in .NET and a few other languages. Anyway, I need help with a specific scenario which I will describe followed by how I am trying to solve my issue. If there are easier ways, please let me know otherwise I just need a way to get my solution working.

To describe what I am trying to do, say I have an application which contains data on Autocad files. When the user alters data in my program, I want to open that dwg file and make changes to it based on what the user changed. If the user already has Autocad opened, I want to access it then search to see if they have this specific dwg opened and, if so, make the changes then and there. If they do not have the file opened, then a new instance of AutoCad needs to be created so I can then open the file, make my changes, then close it. So essentially I need to be able to accessa file and make the appropirate changes without the user having to do anything other than making a change in my application.

My solution was to create an Add-In for AutoCad which contains commands that allow me to make my changes. Currently, how it contains two commands with one being a command to collect data on what needs to be done and the other executes based on that data. This Add-In works perfectly when loading it manually through AutoCad and running the commands through the key in. Next, to get my application to be able to gain access to AutoCad I created a dll which gains access to AutoCad through the use of COM which then tells AutoCad to load my Add-In dll and then tells it to execute my commands. This works except here is where I run into my problem.