Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Finding the Bounds of a Block

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
hanchris
2355 Views, 3 Replies

Finding the Bounds of a Block

As many of the frequent readers here know I am still learning .NET, well I have this code that works; but does not and I am wondering if someone can help.

The point of the code is to try and find a block named "BLOCKNAME" in the BlockTable and then display the Handle, Name, and Extents of the Block reference of BLOCKNAME.

Well, the code works, except it is taking the extents of the ActiveDrawing and not of the block. I believe I can do it if I can figure out how to convert what I have to BlockReference; but I just cannot see how. I am using AutoCAD 2010, which I believe is the first to include "Extents3d", "Extents2d", and "bound", according to Kean Walmsley blog entry.

I hope someone can help and I apologies if there is extra lines of code, like I said I am still in the process of learning what the significance of all these lines of code are. :o)

{code}

Public Sub ListEntities()
'' Get the current document and database, and start a transaction
Dim acDoc As Document = Application.DocumentManager.MdiActiveDocument
Dim acCurDb As Database = acDoc.Database

Using acTrans As Transaction = acCurDb.TransactionManager.StartTransaction()
'' Open the Block table record for read
Dim acBlkTbl As BlockTable

acBlkTbl = acTrans.GetObject(acCurDb.BlockTableId, OpenMode.ForRead)

'' Open the Block table record Model space for read
Dim acBlkTblRec As BlockTableRecord

acBlkTblRec = acTrans.GetObject(acBlkTbl(BlockTableRecord.ModelSpace), _
OpenMode.ForRead)

Dim acBlkTblId As BlockTable
acBlkTblId = acDoc.Database.BlockTableId.GetObject(OpenMode.ForRead)

Dim acObjIdColl As ObjectIdCollection = New ObjectIdCollection()

For Each acObjID As ObjectId In acBlkTbl
acObjIdColl.Add(acObjID)
Next

Dim nCnt As Integer = 0
acDoc.Editor.WriteMessage(vbLf & "Model space objects: ")