Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Export layer data from AutoCAD to Excel

17 REPLIES 17
Message 1 of 18
texas1992
18953 Views, 17 Replies

Export layer data from AutoCAD to Excel

OK, I am completely new to AutoCAD so please be patient with me. I have been asked to write a module that will export layer data from AutoCAD and put it in  an Excel spreadsheet. The user wants to have this done through a macro. I am assuming that I need to create a dll that is called from inside AutoCAD but I am not sure.

They want to start with AutoCAD 2008 and once we get it working there we will convert it to 2011 or 2012.

First of all, I can not find the 2008 API and second of all I'm not sure where to start. I am very experienced at programming. We are going to use VB.NET. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

17 REPLIES 17
Message 2 of 18
Alfred.NESWADBA
in reply to: texas1992

Hi,

>> export layer data from AutoCAD and put it in  an Excel spreadsheet

Not to spent to much time, there is a way like copy&paste

• start the layermanager
  • press <Ctrl>-<A> to select all layers
  • then <Ctrl>-<C> for copy
  • change to Excel
  • press <Ctrl>-<V> for paste)

I think that could not be done much faster.

Or is "wants to have this done through a macro" for you something like an exercise for learning?

- alfred -

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at ... blog.hollaus.at ... CDay 2024
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(not an Autodesk consultant)
Message 3 of 18

I agree, if you are just wanting to get the info into excel then use the copy/paste method.

If you want to do this as a programming experience lesson you have a number of decisions to make depending on what your current programming abilities are. Here are a few choices (maybe more but these I think are the most common)