.NET

.NET

Reply
Contributor
jamkhp
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎05-19-2011
Message 1 of 9 (350 Views)
Accepted Solution

Drawing Saveas is not given expected results

350 Views, 8 Replies
06-01-2011 07:54 AM

Hi all,

Here is a code snippet which is helping me save the file in acad 2000 format, it is working fine, I am facing one minor problem with this, the arrowheads of the dimension are not visible, but the dimensionstyle shows that the arrow head exists, and the whole dimension is one entity( I mean it is not exploded). any suggestions so that I can improve on this, I want the dwg to be saved in 2000 format only, whilst I am constructing it in 2011 through VB.Net.

' ' Start Code

Dim acDoc As Document = Autodesk.AutoCAD.ApplicationServices.Application.DocumentManager.MdiActiveDocument
Dim strDWGName As String = saveFileDia.FileName   ' Name and path extracted from SavefileDialog box
acDoc.Database.SaveAs(strDWGName, True, DwgVersion.AC1015, acDoc.Database.SecurityParameters)

' ' Ending of the Code

 

this is what I see in the drawing

** I tried changing the background color just to see that arrow has changed its color, but it is not the case

 

saveasError.jpg

 

But on the same file if I do a dxfout(), then it is coming good I dont see this condition.

 

Please help me.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
arcticad
Posts: 1,285
Registered: ‎06-21-2004
Message 2 of 9 (347 Views)

Re: Drawing Saveas is not given expected results

06-01-2011 08:01 AM in reply to: jamkhp

Your problem is not the file format. but that annotative dimentioning isn't supported in 2000.

 

---------------------------



(defun botsbuildbots() (botsbuildbots))
Contributor
jamkhp
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎05-19-2011
Message 3 of 9 (342 Views)

Re: Drawing Saveas is not given expected results

06-01-2011 08:16 AM in reply to: arcticad

Hey that was quick,

is this what I need to add

acAliDim.Annotative= AnnotativeStates.False

or

acAliDim.Annotative= AnnotativeStates.Notapplicable

 

?

Sorry I cant run autocad out of my Company so I am asking this question since you are available, please bear with, in fact I should have trid myself.

 

Thanks for the quickest help I have ever got. 

Contributor
jamkhp
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎05-19-2011
Message 4 of 9 (328 Views)

Re: Drawing Saveas is not given expected results

06-01-2011 09:10 AM in reply to: jamkhp

Hi some how I got acces to autocad,

Sorry to say this I am not able to do it, I tried by the methods that I had hit me,

it is not working,

please help me.

 

*Expert Elite*
arcticad
Posts: 1,285
Registered: ‎06-21-2004
Message 5 of 9 (323 Views)

Re: Drawing Saveas is not given expected results

06-01-2011 09:40 AM in reply to: jamkhp

Post your Autocad file, the original and the saved as

 

Thanks

---------------------------



(defun botsbuildbots() (botsbuildbots))
Contributor
jamkhp
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎05-19-2011
Message 6 of 9 (316 Views)

Re: Drawing Saveas is not given expected results

06-01-2011 10:08 AM in reply to: arcticad
Contributor
jamkhp
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎05-19-2011
Message 7 of 9 (277 Views)

Re: Drawing Saveas is not given expected results

06-04-2011 03:37 AM in reply to: jamkhp

Hi I have posted my files,

any success with that?

 

Contributor
jamkhp
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎05-19-2011
Message 8 of 9 (276 Views)

Re: Drawing Saveas is not given expected results

06-04-2011 03:38 AM in reply to: arcticad

hi please reply...

*Expert Elite*
arcticad
Posts: 1,285
Registered: ‎06-21-2004
Message 9 of 9 (241 Views)

Re: Drawing Saveas is not given expected results

06-06-2011 06:49 AM in reply to: jamkhp


The error you are seeing is not because of anything code related.
It has to do with the drawing failing validation.
This is a known problem. I've seen it since 2008

When a drawing is opened in AutoCAD it checks to see if the file was
last saved with an autodesk product.

The data required for this was not supported in 2000/2004.
The file should open just fine if you were using AutoCAD 2004.

However when you use a newer version then it will require the file to be recovered.

If you notice you can resave the file as a 2010 from the 2000 file in code and there are no issues with the file.

The only fix is to resave the file into the current version.


---------------------------



(defun botsbuildbots() (botsbuildbots))
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.