.NET

Reply
Contributor
Khalique
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-14-2005
Message 1 of 8 (145 Views)

Do I need Autocad 2006 for development with DotNet 2006 dlls?

145 Views, 7 Replies
11-18-2005 02:34 PM
I have autocad 2005 installed on my machine and I downloaded 2006 dll sdk and tried to use it in a C# project. The project built fine but on running, it failed to load the assembly. I also tried HelloWorld lab but the result was the same.
I tried to put the 2006 dlls in GAC but it did not succeed because dlls are not strong named. And putting it in the application base path didn't work either.
So, my question is, do I need to have autocad 2006 installed on my machine to do any development with these dlls?
TIA
kr.
Distinguished Contributor
dmarcotte4
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎04-02-2005
Message 2 of 8 (145 Views)

Re: Do I need Autocad 2006 for development with DotNet 2006 dlls?

11-18-2005 04:44 PM in reply to: Khalique
What version of AutoCAD did you try to load your assembly onto?
*Mark Gardiner
Message 3 of 8 (145 Views)

Re: Do I need Autocad 2006 for development with DotNet 2006 dlls?

11-18-2005 05:11 PM in reply to: Khalique
No

AutoCAd 2005 has a .NET API as well all though it is not as complete as the
.NET API in Acad 2006.

wrote in message news:5018115@discussion.autodesk.com...
I have autocad 2005 installed on my machine and I downloaded 2006 dll sdk
and tried to use it in a C# project. The project built fine but on running,
it failed to load the assembly. I also tried HelloWorld lab but the result
was the same.
I tried to put the 2006 dlls in GAC but it did not succeed because dlls are
not strong named. And putting it in the application base path didn't work
either.
So, my question is, do I need to have autocad 2006 installed on my machine
to do any development with these dlls?
TIA
kr.
Contributor
Khalique
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-14-2005
Message 4 of 8 (145 Views)

Re: Do I need Autocad 2006 for development with DotNet 2006 dlls?

11-18-2005 08:44 PM in reply to: Khalique
I have autocad 2005.
Contributor
Khalique
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-14-2005
Message 5 of 8 (145 Views)

Re: Do I need Autocad 2006 for development with DotNet 2006 dlls?

11-18-2005 08:49 PM in reply to: Khalique
I have 2005 .Net API and I am using it in my first project (Visual Studio 2003). However, as you mentioned, it is not as comprehensive as .Net 2006 API. For this reason I wanted to try the latest one.
So, my question remains; do I need autocad 2006 on my machine to run applications developed using 2006 .Net API?
Thanks for yor reply.
kr
Distinguished Contributor
dmarcotte4
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎04-02-2005
Message 6 of 8 (145 Views)

Re: Do I need Autocad 2006 for development with DotNet 2006 dlls?

11-18-2005 09:05 PM in reply to: Khalique
I don’t think the .dll files are backward compatible (or even forward compatible?), you will need 2006 to run applications built for 2006
*Norman Yuan
Message 7 of 8 (145 Views)

Re: Do I need Autocad 2006 for development with DotNet 2006 dlls?

11-20-2005 07:59 AM in reply to: Khalique
Yes, you need Acad2006 for the app being built on Acad2006.NET API.
The general rule from AutoDesk on this kind of version issue is app built on
earlier version would run on later version, not the other way around.

wrote in message news:5018267@discussion.autodesk.com...
I have 2005 .Net API and I am using it in my first project (Visual Studio
2003). However, as you mentioned, it is not as comprehensive as .Net 2006
API. For this reason I wanted to try the latest one.
So, my question remains; do I need autocad 2006 on my machine to run
applications developed using 2006 .Net API?
Thanks for yor reply.
kr
Contributor
Khalique
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-14-2005
Message 8 of 8 (145 Views)

Re: Do I need Autocad 2006 for development with DotNet 2006 dlls?

11-21-2005 06:57 AM in reply to: Khalique
Thank you all.
kr
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.