.NET

Reply
Contributor
Jim Dowthwaite
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-09-2005
Message 1 of 6 (233 Views)

Creating multi-line Mtext

233 Views, 5 Replies
09-27-2007 08:34 AM
I'm having trouble getting an mtext entity with multiple lines of text. I've tried adding vbCrLf, vbLf, vbCr, \P, \n to the Text property but the end result is always a single, wrapping line of text in the mtext entity.

Anyone have an idea what I'm missing?

Thanks in advance.
Mentor
MarkPendergraft
Posts: 385
Registered: ‎06-27-2005
Message 2 of 6 (233 Views)

Re: Creating multi-line Mtext

09-27-2007 11:42 AM in reply to: Jim Dowthwaite
i use vbcrlf all the time with mText, and i haven't had any issues. perhaps you could provide the code in question.
Contributor
Jim Dowthwaite
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-09-2005
Message 3 of 6 (233 Views)

Re: Creating multi-line Mtext

09-27-2007 12:45 PM in reply to: Jim Dowthwaite
I can't put all the code here due to privacy policies in my company but I have posted the mtext creation bit below...

...code above...
Dim PtA As Geometry.Point3d = oEd.GetPoint(vbCrLf & vbTab & "Select Note Insertion Point: ").Value

Dim strText As String = cboSeries.Text & vbCrLf & cboStyle.Text & vbCrLf & cboType.Text & vbCrLf & cboExtra.Text

Dim oMtext As New MText
With oMtext
.Width = 300.0
.TextHeight = 8.0
.Location = PtA
.Attachment = AttachmentPoint.MiddleCenter
.SetContentsRtf(strText)
End With

oBtr.AppendEntity(oMtext)
oTrans.AddNewlyCreatedDBObject(oMtext, True)
End If
...code below...

Hopefully it's something stupid I'm overlooking.
Mentor
MarkPendergraft
Posts: 385
Registered: ‎06-27-2005
Message 4 of 6 (233 Views)

Re: Creating multi-line Mtext

09-27-2007 12:50 PM in reply to: Jim Dowthwaite
Sounds like a crappy company :smileyhappy:

set

.setContentsRtf(strText)

to

.Contents = strText

-Mark Pendergraft
*Luis Esquivel
Message 5 of 6 (233 Views)

Re: Creating multi-line Mtext

09-27-2007 12:51 PM in reply to: Jim Dowthwaite
>> .Width = 300.0

Change that number to an smaller value ie 4.0.... and see what happens.
Contributor
Jim Dowthwaite
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-09-2005
Message 6 of 6 (233 Views)

Re: Creating multi-line Mtext

09-27-2007 01:12 PM in reply to: Jim Dowthwaite
Changing to .Contents = strText did the trick!

Thanks :smileyhappy:
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.