.NET

Reply
Contributor
Jim Dowthwaite
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-09-2005
Message 1 of 6 (230 Views)

Creating multi-line Mtext

230 Views, 5 Replies
09-27-2007 08:34 AM
I'm having trouble getting an mtext entity with multiple lines of text. I've tried adding vbCrLf, vbLf, vbCr, \P, \n to the Text property but the end result is always a single, wrapping line of text in the mtext entity.

Anyone have an idea what I'm missing?

Thanks in advance.
Mentor
MarkPendergraft
Posts: 375
Registered: ‎06-27-2005
Message 2 of 6 (230 Views)

Re: Creating multi-line Mtext

09-27-2007 11:42 AM in reply to: Jim Dowthwaite
i use vbcrlf all the time with mText, and i haven't had any issues. perhaps you could provide the code in question.
Contributor
Jim Dowthwaite
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-09-2005
Message 3 of 6 (230 Views)

Re: Creating multi-line Mtext

09-27-2007 12:45 PM in reply to: Jim Dowthwaite
I can't put all the code here due to privacy policies in my company but I have posted the mtext creation bit below...

...code above...
Dim PtA As Geometry.Point3d = oEd.GetPoint(vbCrLf & vbTab & "Select Note Insertion Point: ").Value

Dim strText As String = cboSeries.Text & vbCrLf & cboStyle.Text & vbCrLf & cboType.Text & vbCrLf & cboExtra.Text

Dim oMtext As New MText
With oMtext
.Width = 300.0
.TextHeight = 8.0
.Location = PtA
.Attachment = AttachmentPoint.MiddleCenter
.SetContentsRtf(strText)
End With

oBtr.AppendEntity(oMtext)
oTrans.AddNewlyCreatedDBObject(oMtext, True)
End If
...code below...

Hopefully it's something stupid I'm overlooking.
Mentor
MarkPendergraft
Posts: 375
Registered: ‎06-27-2005
Message 4 of 6 (230 Views)

Re: Creating multi-line Mtext

09-27-2007 12:50 PM in reply to: Jim Dowthwaite
Sounds like a crappy company :smileyhappy:

set

.setContentsRtf(strText)

to

.Contents = strText

-Mark Pendergraft
*Luis Esquivel
Message 5 of 6 (230 Views)

Re: Creating multi-line Mtext

09-27-2007 12:51 PM in reply to: Jim Dowthwaite
>> .Width = 300.0

Change that number to an smaller value ie 4.0.... and see what happens.
Contributor
Jim Dowthwaite
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-09-2005
Message 6 of 6 (230 Views)

Re: Creating multi-line Mtext

09-27-2007 01:12 PM in reply to: Jim Dowthwaite
Changing to .Contents = strText did the trick!

Thanks :smileyhappy:
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!