.NET
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating a polyline using distances between points.

2 REPLIES 2
SOLVED
Message 1 of 3
baw6718
986 Views, 2 Replies

Creating a polyline using distances between points.

Hello I am new to the .Net api. I am aware of creating a polyline and using .AddVertexAt() to give the points, my question is if I want to create a polyline in acad I generally will pick a point and then type out @10.5<0 or something similar of that nature to pick my next point. Is it possible to add vertices to a polyline in .Net giving it the distance and angle of one point2d to the next point2d?

Example:

acPoly.AddVertexAt(0, New Point2d(0,0),0,0,0)

acPoly.AddvertexAt(0, New Point2d(1,0),0,0,0)

but instead?

acPoly.AddVertexAt(0, New Point2d(0,0),0,0,0)

acPoly.AddVertex ( use code equivalent of  New Point2d = @10.5<0 from point at 0 index)

2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
DiningPhilosopher
in reply to: baw6718

Here's a few C# extension methods for Point3d that compute polar and spherical points relative to a given Point3d.

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;

namespace Autodesk.AutoCAD.Geometry
{
   public static class AcGeExtensions
   {
      /// 2D Polar specificiation (distance/angle)

public static Point3d GetPointAt( this Point3d basepoint, double distance, double AngleInXYPlane )
      {
         return new Point3d(
            basepoint.X + ( distance * Math.Cos( AngleInXYPlane ) ),
            basepoint.Y + ( distance * Math.Sin( AngleInXYPlane ) ),
            basepoint.Z );
      }

/// Spherical Coordinate (radius/phi/theta)

public static Point3d GetPointAt( this Point3d center, double radius, double phi, double theta )
      {
         double phicos = Math.Cos( phi );
         return new Point3d(
            center.X + ( radius * phicos * Math.Cos( theta ) ),
            center.Y + ( radius * phicos * Math.Sin( theta ) ),