.NET

Reply
Active Member
dominicthoppil
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-27-2012
Message 1 of 3 (352 Views)
Accepted Solution

Create Plugin for AutoCAD 2012

352 Views, 2 Replies
09-27-2012 09:57 PM

Hi

 I need to create one Plugin for AutoCAD 2012. I created one plugin for AutoCAD 2007 using .NET 2.0 . I would like to know which is the correct .NET framework I should use for creating a plugin for AutoCAD 2012. For Ex. [.NET 2.0, .NET 3.5, .NET 4.0, .NET 4.5 etc] ?

If possible can I get a link to any autodesk official page detailing about the .NET frameworks ?

 

Regards

Dominic

 

 

 

            

Technically, you can use any of the versons of .NET you listed (2.0 to 4.5).

 

However, if you use 4.x, make sure in acad.exe.config you have

 

<supportedRuntime version="v4.x"/>

 

in the <startup /> section.

 

With that said, using .NET4.5 with Acad2012 (or even Acad2013) is not recommended/not supported: after all, .NET 4.5 is released after Acad2013's release.

 

Autodesk's claim that AutoCAD would use latest version of .NET ends after AutoCAD 2009/.NET3.x. Since Acad2012's .NET API is built on .NET3.x (2.0 runtime, 3.x is just additional functionalities that run on top of 2.0), if you do not specify <supportedRuntime version=4.0 />, Acad2012 uses .NET2.0/3.x.

 

Acad2012 installation has <supportedRuntime version=4.0 /> set as default. So, basically you would target your Acad plugin development at .NET4.0. If you choose to target .NET3.x for some reasons, make sure <supportedRuntime version=4.0 /> is removed from acad.exe.config. You can use either VS2010 or VS2012.

*Expert Elite*
norman.yuan
Posts: 1,063
Registered: ‎04-27-2009
Message 2 of 3 (331 Views)

Re: Create Plugin for AutoCAD 2012

09-28-2012 09:54 AM in reply to: dominicthoppil

Technically, you can use any of the versons of .NET you listed (2.0 to 4.5).

 

However, if you use 4.x, make sure in acad.exe.config you have

 

<supportedRuntime version="v4.x"/>

 

in the <startup /> section.

 

With that said, using .NET4.5 with Acad2012 (or even Acad2013) is not recommended/not supported: after all, .NET 4.5 is released after Acad2013's release.

 

Autodesk's claim that AutoCAD would use latest version of .NET ends after AutoCAD 2009/.NET3.x. Since Acad2012's .NET API is built on .NET3.x (2.0 runtime, 3.x is just additional functionalities that run on top of 2.0), if you do not specify <supportedRuntime version=4.0 />, Acad2012 uses .NET2.0/3.x.

 

Acad2012 installation has <supportedRuntime version=4.0 /> set as default. So, basically you would target your Acad plugin development at .NET4.0. If you choose to target .NET3.x for some reasons, make sure <supportedRuntime version=4.0 /> is removed from acad.exe.config. You can use either VS2010 or VS2012.

Active Member
dominicthoppil
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-27-2012
Message 3 of 3 (306 Views)

Re: Create Plugin for AutoCAD 2012

09-30-2012 12:21 AM in reply to: norman.yuan

Hi

 

Thank you for your valuable reply.

 

Regards

Dominic

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.