.NET

Reply
Active Contributor
HomeBoyLV
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎06-04-2004
Message 1 of 7 (385 Views)

Create database resident system variable

385 Views, 6 Replies
04-20-2009 06:50 PM
Is it possible to create a database resident system variable? My desire is to create a system variable that I can use to expose results of my program, and/or let the user set values that the program can use. I thought I saw an example somewhere, but I can't seem to find it now.

Any Ideas?

Thanks

HomeBoy Out
*Tony Tanzillo
Message 2 of 7 (385 Views)

Re: Create database resident system variable

04-20-2009 08:48 PM in reply to: HomeBoyLV
No way to create your own system variables.

You can store data in dictionaries and provide your own UI or command to let
the user view or change them.

--
http://www.caddzone.com

AcadXTabs: MDI Document Tabs for AutoCAD 2009
Supporting AutoCAD 2000 through 2009

http://www.acadxtabs.com

Introducing AcadXTabs 2010:
http://www.caddzone.com/acadxtabs/AcadXTabs2010.htm


wrote in message news:6166438@discussion.autodesk.com...
Is it possible to create a database resident system variable? My desire is
to create a system variable that I can use to expose results of my program,
and/or let the user set values that the program can use. I thought I saw an
example somewhere, but I can't seem to find it now. Any Ideas? Thanks
HomeBoy Out
Distinguished Contributor
NathTay
Posts: 1,691
Registered: ‎12-15-2003
Message 3 of 7 (385 Views)

Re: Create database resident system variable

04-20-2009 11:03 PM in reply to: HomeBoyLV
See AutoCAD help for info on USERI1-5 & USERR1-5 system variables. Obvious shortcomings are limited number of variables and knowing they aren't/won't be used by another person/program.
*LE
Message 4 of 7 (385 Views)

Re: Create database resident system variable

04-21-2009 09:53 AM in reply to: HomeBoyLV

Or.... P/Invoke:

 

 acedGetEnv and acedSetEnv


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
<HomeBoyLV>
Is it possible to create a database resident
system variable? My desire is to create a system variable that I can use to
expose results of my program, and/or let the user set values that the program
can use. I thought I saw an example somewhere, but I can't seem to find it
now. Any Ideas? Thanks HomeBoy Out
*Tony Tanzillo
Message 5 of 7 (385 Views)

Re: Create database resident system variable

04-21-2009 11:01 AM in reply to: HomeBoyLV
I think you're confusing storing data in a DWG file with
storing it in the registry.

--
http://www.caddzone.com

AcadXTabs: MDI Document Tabs for AutoCAD 2009
Supporting AutoCAD 2000 through 2009

http://www.acadxtabs.com

Introducing AcadXTabs 2010:
http://www.caddzone.com/acadxtabs/AcadXTabs2010.htm


wrote in message news:6166949@discussion.autodesk.com...
Or.... P/Invoke:

acedGetEnv and acedSetEnv

Is it possible to create a database resident system variable? My desire is
to create a system variable that I can use to expose results of my program,
and/or let the user set values that the program can use. I thought I saw an
example somewhere, but I can't seem to find it now. Any Ideas? Thanks
HomeBoy Out
*LE
Message 6 of 7 (385 Views)

Re: Create database resident system variable

04-21-2009 11:08 AM in reply to: HomeBoyLV
Thanks Tony and yes,
Please ignore what I just previously posted :smileyhappy:


////
"Tony Tanzillo"
I think you're confusing storing data in a DWG file with
storing it in the registry.
Distinguished Contributor
Artvegas
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎04-21-2011
Message 7 of 7 (172 Views)

Re: Create database resident system variable

05-05-2012 08:19 AM in reply to: *LE

Very old post, but from AutoCAD 2011 onwards it is possible to create a custom system variable by adding a key to the registry.

 

Your user might need elevated UAC permissions to be able to add it to the registry's local-machine hive, but this can be achieved by your installer.

 

There's more information contained at the bottom of the following through-the-interface post for those who are interested Custom System Variable Link

 

Art

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.