.NET

Reply
Mentor
mgorecki
Posts: 414
Registered: ‎09-23-2004
Message 1 of 15 (163 Views)
Accepted Solution

Command Line Suggestions Does Not Allow Me to Run Program

163 Views, 14 Replies
08-01-2014 08:38 AM

I have a number of programs written in VB.Net that we have been using for quite a while.

We enter "Netload", pick the program .dll, then type the command to start on the command line.

Now I have AutoCad 2014 installed.  I use the above steps to run my program (as usual), and enter "pod" to launch my program.

The problem is the "suggestions" att he command prompt do not allow me to use "pod" and instead erases the "d" and runs the "polygon" (po) command.

How do I shut this off?  Or how do I get it to recognize my custom command?

 

Thanks,

Mark

accoremgd.dll, together with acmgd.dll and acdbmgd.dll are already included in AutoCAD (2013 and above) installation folder. They are .NET wrappers to call native AutoCAD engine. You don't need ObjectARX SDK to get it. They are all in the AutoCAD folder.

 

Mentor
mgorecki
Posts: 414
Registered: ‎09-23-2004
Message 2 of 15 (156 Views)

Re: Command Line Suggestions Does Not Allow Me to Run Program

08-01-2014 08:51 AM in reply to: mgorecki

Ok, I turned off the "Autocomplete", but that didn't solve the problem.  Does anyone know why 2014 doesn't allow me to use my command?

 

The program was written in Visual Studio 2010.  It works fine in 2010 and 2012.  Is there something I need to do to 2014 setup to let it understand the netloaded command?

 

Thanks

Mark

*Expert Elite*
norman.yuan
Posts: 998
Registered: ‎04-27-2009
Message 3 of 15 (152 Views)

Re: Command Line Suggestions Does Not Allow Me to Run Program

08-01-2014 08:56 AM in reply to: mgorecki

Are you saying that at command line, you type 'P', and then 'O', and AutoCAD immediately runs the command 'PO' without you pressing Enter/Space? It is rather strange.

 

Or, you mean after entering 'PO', once you enter 'D', AutoCAD treats 'D' as Enter/Space and runs command 'PO', instead of showing 'POD' and waiting for Enter/Space to complete the command entering?

Mentor
khoa.ho
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎09-15-2011
Message 4 of 15 (147 Views)

Re: Command Line Suggestions Does Not Allow Me to Run Program

08-01-2014 09:03 AM in reply to: mgorecki

Since AutoCAD 2013, developers need to reference accoremgd.dll to their .NET plugins. AutoCAD 2012 and bellow versions need only acmgd.dll and acdbmgd.dll. Therefore, your plugin built on AutoCAD 2012 is still loaded on AutoCAD 2013/2014, but your custom commands will not work. You need to build another DLL with references to AutoCAD 2014. Make sure you reference accoremgd.dll

Mentor
mgorecki
Posts: 414
Registered: ‎09-23-2004
Message 5 of 15 (144 Views)

Re: Command Line Suggestions Does Not Allow Me to Run Program

08-01-2014 09:08 AM in reply to: norman.yuan

Hi Norman,

I enter "pod" and the suggestions show up above the command line.  Even though "Polygon" has a shortcut of "PO", when I enter "pod" it runs the Polygon command anyway.

I've checked the acad.pgp file.  Polygon has the "po" shortcut, but not "pod" shortcut.

 

Mentor
khoa.ho
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎09-15-2011
Message 6 of 15 (142 Views)

Re: Command Line Suggestions Does Not Allow Me to Run Program

08-01-2014 09:12 AM in reply to: mgorecki

Your custom command "POD" was simply not registered on AutoCAD 2014 as it was built for AutoCAD 2012. That is the reason why it is not shown up on the command line. You need to build another DLL for AutoCAD 2014 with accoremgd.dll reference included.

 

Mentor
mgorecki
Posts: 414
Registered: ‎09-23-2004
Message 7 of 15 (141 Views)

Re: Command Line Suggestions Does Not Allow Me to Run Program

08-01-2014 09:12 AM in reply to: khoa.ho

Ok, if I reference the accoremgd.dll in the new version, will the people still using 2010 and 2012 still be able to run the program?

Will I have to have two different versions of the program?

 

Mentor
khoa.ho
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎09-15-2011
Message 8 of 15 (135 Views)

Re: Command Line Suggestions Does Not Allow Me to Run Program

08-01-2014 09:17 AM in reply to: mgorecki

For the correct .NET frameworks, AutoCAD 2010 uses 3.5, AutoCAD 2012 and 2013/2014 use 4.0. However AutoCAD 2010 and 2012 do not have accoremgd.dll reference. Then you need 3 DLL files for AutoCAD 2010 (.NET 3.5), AutoCAD 2012 (.NET 4.0) and AutoCAD 2013/2014 (.NET 4.0 with accoremgd.dll).

 

AutoCAD 2013 and 2014 share the same plugin if you don't use new API in 2014.

 

Mentor
mgorecki
Posts: 414
Registered: ‎09-23-2004
Message 9 of 15 (129 Views)

Re: Command Line Suggestions Does Not Allow Me to Run Program

08-01-2014 09:26 AM in reply to: khoa.ho

Thank you for all your help.  Will I also have to download the ObjectARX 2014 to get the accoremgd.dll?

Mentor
khoa.ho
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎09-15-2011
Message 10 of 15 (127 Views)

Re: Command Line Suggestions Does Not Allow Me to Run Program

08-01-2014 09:30 AM in reply to: mgorecki

accoremgd.dll, together with acmgd.dll and acdbmgd.dll are already included in AutoCAD (2013 and above) installation folder. They are .NET wrappers to call native AutoCAD engine. You don't need ObjectARX SDK to get it. They are all in the AutoCAD folder.

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.