.NET

Reply
Valued Contributor
dynamicscope
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
Message 1 of 5 (904 Views)

Change initial view port size in paper space

904 Views, 4 Replies
06-27-2013 02:20 AM

When I first draw something on a model space and click the Layout1 tab to see paper space.

The default view port size (the red box) looks like the following.

 

2013-06-27 18;03;10.PNG

 

But I want to maximize the view port size such that (for example) the dotted line to be the defualt view port size in the paper space.

Could I do this by code??

 

I am currently using ObjectARX 2007 in C#.

 

Thank you in advance.

ADN Support Specialist
augusto.goncalves
Posts: 387
Registered: ‎04-30-2009
Message 2 of 5 (855 Views)

Re: Change initial view port size in paper space

07-03-2013 06:47 AM in reply to: dynamicscope

You would need to access the Viewport on the Layout, then set its Height and Width

 

This post show how to access the viewport, just change the end of the code to adjust the height and width: http://adndevblog.typepad.com/autocad/2012/08/changing-zoom-in-paperspace-viewport.html

Regards,



Augusto Goncalves
Autodesk Developer Network
Valued Contributor
dynamicscope
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
Message 3 of 5 (839 Views)

Re: Change initial view port size in paper space

07-03-2013 06:55 PM in reply to: augusto.goncalves
Awesome!!
I can tweak a little bit and use it.

Now I am wondering what the dotted border is??
Is it possible to get the width and height of the dotted border??
Valued Contributor
dynamicscope
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
Message 4 of 5 (835 Views)

Re: Change initial view port size in paper space

07-03-2013 07:27 PM in reply to: dynamicscope
Oh, it was the PlotPaperMargins...
I did this and achieved what I wanted!!

vp.Width = layoutObj.PlotPaperSize.Y - (layoutObj.PlotPaperMargins.MinPoint.Y * 2);
vp.Height = layoutObj.PlotPaperSize.X - (layoutObj.PlotPaperMargins.MinPoint.X * 2);
Valued Contributor
dynamicscope
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
Message 5 of 5 (822 Views)

Re: Change initial view port size in paper space

07-04-2013 12:34 AM in reply to: augusto.goncalves

Actually... It doesn't quite work.

It only works once.

For example...

 

I run the AutoCAD and draw a circle and change the layout to Paperspace.

 

2013-07-04 16;19;51.PNG

 

If you look at the command box,

 

PlotPaperSize : 297, 210

Viewport #2 : 205.6 156

 

so if I run below code....

 

...
// set the viewport parameters
if (vp.Number == 2)
{
	vp.UpgradeOpen();

	double width = layoutObj.PlotPaperSize.Y - (layoutObj.PlotPaperMargins.MinPoint.Y * 2);
	double height = layoutObj.PlotPaperSize.X - (layoutObj.PlotPaperMargins.MinPoint.X * 2);
	vp.Width = width;
	vp.Height = height;                                        

	// set the view height - adjusted by 1%
	vp.ViewHeight = mHeight * 1.01;                                        
	// set the view center
	vp.ViewCenter = mCentPt;
	vp.Visible = true;
	vp.On = true;                                        
	vp.UpdateDisplay();
	ed.SwitchToModelSpace();
	Application.SetSystemVariable("CVPORT", vp.Number);
}
...

 

I get what I want...

 

2013-07-04 16;21;11.PNG

 

However, after I create a new drawing and do the exactly same procedure....

I get....

 

2013-07-04 16;22;10.PNG

 

Note, PlotPaperSize : 279, 215

But Viewport #2 : 8, 6

 

As a result if I run the same code as above...

I get...

 

2013-07-04 16;23;06.PNG

 

.....this....

 

Does this mean that the white space size is not PlotPaperSize????

What could have been gone wrong?

 

:smileysad:

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!