Did you mean: 

Cannoscale formatting

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
kemp77
1951 Views, 6 Replies

Cannoscale formatting

Dim str As String = ("1/16""" & " = 1'-0""")

MsgBox("Cannoscale = " & CannoScale)
Application.SetSystemVariable("CANNOSCALE", str)

I am new to learning vb.net. This problem will make that readily apparent 😛 What is wrong with this statement? I have checked the output of str with a msgbox and it looks exactly like what I should be feeding the cannoscale system variable, yet it does not change the value. What could I be formatting incorrectly? I have it currently working in vba using the following format:

("1/16" & Chr(34) & "=1'-0" & Chr(34))

but it fires a debug error in vb.net

Output to cannoscale should be --> 1/16" = 1'-0"

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
chiefbraincloud
in reply to: kemp77

I assume that for your testing purposes you know that the scale exists, right?

That said, I'm not sure why it would fail, but try something like this:

Dim db As Database = HostApplicationServices.WorkingDatabase
Dim ocm As ObjectContextManager = db.ObjectContextManager
Dim occ As ObjectContextCollection = ocm.GetContextCollection("ACDB_ANNOTATIONSCALES")
Dim tstAnnoScale As AnnotationScale = occ.GetContext("1/16""" & " = 1'-0""")
If Not tstAnnoScale Is Nothing Then db.Cannoscale = tstAnnoScale

Similar code works for me, and this way, you can test the tstannoscale object to be sure it exists before trying to set it. 

Dave O.                                                                  Sig-Logos32.png
Message 3 of 7
Jeffrey_H
in reply to: chiefbraincloud

Also if you are ever dealing with StandardScale property of a viewport use values in documentation

under Autodesk.AutoCAD.DatabaseServices.StandardScaleType Enumeration

not Viewport.StandardScale Property they use "is instead of and"

To clarify, for a ViewPort.StandardScale property use values listed in the docs for

Autodesk.AutoCAD.DatabaseServices.StandardScaleType Enumeration