.NET
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can someone review/critique this bit of code please?

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
Crux-ad
425 Views, 3 Replies

Can someone review/critique this bit of code please?

This is essentially my first attempt at .net.  I have lots of experience with vlisp but have been wanting to learn more.  One of the lsp's in my arsenal that's used in practically every program I create grabs information from a file generated by our database.  So I figured that'd be a good place to start for something fairly simple.

The file is structured as such:

("655207" "001" "D" 00001 30.2500 040.1236 "CF")

This is just a representative example.  Each line in the file contains about 150+ fields.

I've spent quite a bit of time on google and msdn.microsoft.com and I'm starting to get a handle on it.  So after a bit of trial and error I came up with the below code.  I just want some advice on what I came up with.  It works, but is it the best/most efficent way to do what I want?

Essentially the idea I had was, create an object/class that holds the data parsed from the text file in read only properties.  So with the code below I just do:

Dim info As New Infoset("655207", "001") and info.diam will be 30.25

And now I can just start adding the properties....all 150 of them...and access all the data in the file.

Public Class Infoset
    Private orderno As String
    Private seqno As String

Public Sub New(ByVal Orderno As String, ByVal Seqno As String)
        Me.orderno = Orderno
        Me.seqno = Seqno
    End Sub

Private Function Find(ByVal Orderno As String, ByVal Seqno As String, ByVal Pos As Integer)
        Try
            Using reader As New Microsoft.VisualBasic.FileIO.TextFieldParser("C:\VB Projects\FindShaft\shprnt.dat")
                reader.TextFieldType = FileIO.FieldType.Delimited
                reader.SetDelimiters(" ", "(", ")")
                reader.HasFieldsEnclosedInQuotes = True