.NET

wojciech.janik
Message 1 of 2 (155 Views)
Accepted Solution

C# AddToModelSpace

155 Views, 1 Replies
03-02-2014 12:03 PM

Hi,

I have some experience in vb.net, now i'm learning c#. I tried to translate my vb.net code to c# but I get an error:

Cannot convert method group 'StartTransaction' to non-delegate type 'Autodesk.AutoCAD.DatabaseServices.Transaction'. Did you intend to invoke the method?

What am I doing wrong? Here is a code:

public ObjectId AddToModelSpace(Database DBIn, Entity EntityIn)
        {
            Document doc = Application.DocumentManager.MdiActiveDocument;
            using (DocumentLock acLckDoc = doc.LockDocument())
            {

using (Transaction myTrans = DBIn.TransactionManager.StartTransaction)
                {
                    BlockTable myBT = DBIn.BlockTableId.GetObject(OpenMode.ForRead);
                    BlockTableRecord myModelSpace = myBT(BlockTableRecord.ModelSpace).GetObject(OpenMode.ForWrite);
                    myModelSpace.AppendEntity(EntityIn);
                    myTrans.AddNewlyCreatedDBObject(EntityIn, true);
                    myTrans.Commit();
                    return EntityIn.ObjectId;

}
            }
        }

Hi,

With C#, when you call a method without argument, you must explicitly write the empty argument list: ()

Transaction myTrans = DBIn.TransactionManager.StartTransaction()

This clearly differentiates calling to methods without argument and calling to properties. I also differentiates a calling to a function (to get the returned value) and the using of a delegate (passig the function name).

*Expert Elite*
_gile
Message 2 of 2 (108 Views)

Re : C# AddToModelSpace

03-02-2014 11:15 PM in reply to: wojciech.janik

Hi,

With C#, when you call a method without argument, you must explicitly write the empty argument list: ()

Transaction myTrans = DBIn.TransactionManager.StartTransaction()