.NET

.NET

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
jmaeding
Posts: 1,056
Registered: ‎12-27-2006
Message 1 of 6 (213 Views)
Accepted Solution

Break points not stopping code on modeless forms

213 Views, 5 Replies
03-08-2012 04:20 PM

I am using acad 2012, and VS 2010 (C#) on win 7 64 bit.

I made a form, and showing it as modeless via Application.ShowModelessDialog... as recommended by everyone and that works fine.

I have a button that does something, and I set a break point right on the first line of code for its callback.

The button runs fine, but VS is not stopping at the break point.

 

Is there a different technique required when debugging modeless forms?

thx

internal protected virtual unsafe Human()
http://onesmallstepforcad.com/

Hi,

 

have you set Framework4 as the current Framework for your project?

If you don't want FW4 then a good point to look at: >>>here<<<

And NEXTFIBERWORLD could be a point-of-interest, look to >>>this issue<<<

 

- alfred -

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,607
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 6 (201 Views)

Re: Break points not stopping code on modeless forms

03-09-2012 12:01 AM in reply to: jmaeding

Hi,

 

have you set Framework4 as the current Framework for your project?

If you don't want FW4 then a good point to look at: >>>here<<<

And NEXTFIBERWORLD could be a point-of-interest, look to >>>this issue<<<

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Distinguished Contributor
jmaeding
Posts: 1,056
Registered: ‎12-27-2006
Message 3 of 6 (186 Views)

Re: Break points not stopping code on modeless forms

03-09-2012 08:34 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

yah, setting framework to 4 did the trick.

The other options Kean mentioned are less desirable.

Wish I could stick with 3.5, as 4 is not always on a given machine.

Guess I can switch back before deploying.

 

Thanks a bunch for your reply, i was worried about this last night.

internal protected virtual unsafe Human()
http://onesmallstepforcad.com/

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,607
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 6 (174 Views)

Re: Break points not stopping code on modeless forms

03-09-2012 12:53 PM in reply to: jmaeding

Hi,

 

>> Wish I could stick with 3.5, as 4 is not always on a given machine.

If AutoCAD 2012 is installed, then Framework 4 is installed, it does not run without! :smileywink:

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Distinguished Contributor
jmaeding
Posts: 1,056
Registered: ‎12-27-2006
Message 5 of 6 (172 Views)

Re: Break points not stopping code on modeless forms

03-09-2012 12:56 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

I lose track of what needs what. I program for 2009 and 2012 so I will just target each project for correct framework.

thx

internal protected virtual unsafe Human()
http://onesmallstepforcad.com/

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,607
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 6 of 6 (170 Views)

Re: Break points not stopping code on modeless forms

03-09-2012 01:08 PM in reply to: jmaeding

Hi,

 

>> I lose track of what needs what

check the bottom of >>>this link<<<

...and for 2012 you need 4.0

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.