.NET

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,417
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 11 of 13 (85 Views)

Re: Block Reference question.

06-14-2012 07:03 AM in reply to: wowens63

Hi,

 

so last guess before I try to simulate your situation

You exploded the DWG1, so you have in this drawing

  • a) a BlockTableRecord "ModelSpace" containing one BlockReference "BLOCK1"
  • b) a BlockTableRecord "BLOCK1" ... whatever defines this block
  • c) a BlockTableRecord "DWG1" containing one BlockReference "BLOCK1"

 

Now you check "how often is my BlockTableRecord named "BLOCK1 referenced within that database".

Look to the colored words ==> 2

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Contributor
wowens63
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎06-22-2007
Message 12 of 13 (83 Views)

Re: Block Reference question.

06-14-2012 07:41 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

hi alfred

if i look at the BlockTable for the database i see one block called "block1"

did you see my last post with my drawing and my code?

Valued Contributor
wowens63
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎06-22-2007
Message 13 of 13 (69 Views)

Re: Block Reference question.

06-14-2012 09:13 AM in reply to: wowens63

I understand now. thanks

 

When you explode Dwg1, you're making a copy of the block reference in Dwg1,

so you end up with two block references:

one in the Dwg1 block table record, and one in the *Model_Space block table record.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!