.NET

Reply
Member
Borg21
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-08-2012
Message 1 of 6 (304 Views)

Batch embed .tif image into AutoCAD drawings?

304 Views, 5 Replies
08-20-2013 07:22 AM

Due to customer constraints I have to embed .tif images into AutoCAD drawings. This is a manual operation doing a copy ->pastespecial. I was wondering if there was any way to automate this? The pastespecial command doesn't seem to take arguments to bypass the dialoge box and therefore does not allow me to batch embed .tifs programatically.

ADN Support Specialist
fenton.webb
Posts: 352
Registered: ‎07-24-2007
Message 2 of 6 (273 Views)

Re: Batch embed .tif image into AutoCAD drawings?

08-20-2013 05:36 PM in reply to: Borg21

Do you mean open a DWG one by one inside of the AutoCAD editor, or in a side database?





Fenton Webb

Developer Technical Services

Autodesk Developer Network


Member
Borg21
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-08-2012
Message 3 of 6 (258 Views)

Re: Batch embed .tif image into AutoCAD drawings?

08-21-2013 03:58 AM in reply to: fenton.webb

If I could do it without opening each individual drawing that would be great but I am sure I am going to have to open each drawing in the editor.

 

The idea is to write a .NET plugin that will open up a template drawing, insert the tif, save, and then move onto the next one. I just can't have any links to the tif, it must be embedded without path information. That is why I have to use the paste special in the manual operation.

 

If I can automate getting the tif inside the drawing, the rest is relatively straightforward.

ADN Support Specialist
fenton.webb
Posts: 352
Registered: ‎07-24-2007
Message 4 of 6 (244 Views)

Re: Batch embed .tif image into AutoCAD drawings?

08-21-2013 09:09 AM in reply to: Borg21

can you send an example DWG file that shows the result please? Just want to make sure we are on the same page...

 





Fenton Webb

Developer Technical Services

Autodesk Developer Network


Member
Borg21
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-08-2012
Message 5 of 6 (232 Views)

Re: Batch embed .tif image into AutoCAD drawings?

08-21-2013 09:52 AM in reply to: fenton.webb

Ive attached a sample dwg in a zip file. The drawing contains a titleblock with an embeded tif image using the pastespecial command.

ADN Support Specialist
fenton.webb
Posts: 352
Registered: ‎07-24-2007
Message 6 of 6 (222 Views)

Re: Batch embed .tif image into AutoCAD drawings?

08-21-2013 10:21 AM in reply to: Borg21

thanks for sending that... Check out this post http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/NET/How-can-I-insert-rasterImage-but-not-depend-on-the-ori-file/td-p/3...

 

 





Fenton Webb

Developer Technical Services

Autodesk Developer Network


Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.