.NET

Reply
Valued Contributor
aksaks
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-23-2009
Message 1 of 4 (140 Views)

AutoCAD gets slower when loading for each VS 2010 express debugging session

140 Views, 3 Replies
02-09-2012 09:32 PM

When running VS 2010 express in debug mode, for either AutoCAD 2010 or 2012, 64 bit, AutoCAD gets slower and slower loading with each subsequent debug session until it becomes intolerable. A system restart is necessary. Is this normal? I see this on a fast machine with tons of ram. During the waits there are patches of white screen in the various AutoCAD interface components. The performance hit is exponential with each session. The first debug is normal, The second is slightly slower. The third is noticeably slower and so on.

Valued Contributor
FFlix
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎11-15-2011
Message 2 of 4 (127 Views)

Re: AutoCAD gets slower when loading for each VS 2010 express debugging session

02-10-2012 05:52 AM in reply to: aksaks

hi, shot in the dark really:

 

what's the intermediate window saying? any warnings on 'forgot to dispose' items you may have created and which are, somehow, accumulating?  or does it happen when debugging even 'empty' commands?

 

else, set a debug.time start and end for individual sections.

 

felix

Valued Contributor
aksaks
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-23-2009
Message 3 of 4 (110 Views)

Re: AutoCAD gets slower when loading for each VS 2010 express debugging session

02-10-2012 11:51 AM in reply to: FFlix

The delay occurs starting the AutoCAD session prior to netloading the application to debug. The immediate window is blank until the last moment when the ribbon shows up. Then it is full of errors related mostly to the UI, which I believe is considered normal.

Distinguished Mentor
gasty1001
Posts: 581
Registered: ‎04-11-2010
Message 4 of 4 (109 Views)

Re: AutoCAD gets slower when loading for each VS 2010 express debugging session

02-10-2012 11:51 AM in reply to: FFlix

Hi,

 

An other shot in the dark, looks like a memory leak , check the memory before and after netloading , using the app and closing Acad, but may be anything, from improperly dispose of some objects , hard disk space , a threading issue, etc.

please show the code and the specs of your platform.

 

Gaston Nunez

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!