Did you mean: 

AutoCAD 2012 API vs. AutoCAD 2013 API

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
DouceDeux
1927 Views, 6 Replies

AutoCAD 2012 API vs. AutoCAD 2013 API

Hello,

I'm new to programming for AutoCAD. I've just started on a project where we'll be doing just that, programming for and in AutoCAD.

We're gonna spend considerable resources on the development of new AutoCAD oriented software but as the initial phase that we're in, we've come to a bit of a dilemma.

I've seen the interface of AutoCAD 2012 and 2013, they look pretty similar, right? This is why I assumed, before starting this project and meeting the offices, it would be safe to develop for AutoCAD 2012. I started doubting this when I read a post where it said that the API had a major change from the 2012 to the 2013 version.

Now, the guys over here are still using AutoCAD 2010, I guess licences are expensive Smiley Frustrated and the 2010 does just what they need it to do, but their inface is so different (no ribbon) and I'm guessing this will make programming for 2010 much different than for 2011/2012/2013 because those visual changes usually come with a lot with internal changes.

I had not used AutoCAD before the start of this project so it's all the same to me but not for the project itself.

What I'd like to know is what your thoughts are and what  you'd recommend to develop for, 2012, 2013(too new, doubtful choice), or stick to 2010 (though we're not necessarily developing for the guys here using AutoCAD 2010, and ultimately, they could upgrade to 2012/13).

We're yet to find out a bit more about the AutoCAD-version usage standards on other countries and see what's more convenient.

Of course, one can create a program that supports all and every single version of AutoCAD that had an API, but that'd be a lot to take on.

Thanks in advance for your time, reading and replying.

P.D. Bonus question: What's Autodesk ObjectARX to be precise?

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
dave.wolfe
in reply to: DouceDeux