.NET

Reply
Active Member
vryarbe
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-02-2009
Message 1 of 11 (1,081 Views)

Add Layer Description to Layer Dropdown list

1081 Views, 10 Replies
03-22-2010 03:38 PM
Is there a way in .net to add the layer description field (viewable in the Layer Properties Manager menu) to the layer dropdown list? Our designers want to see this information without opening the Layer Properties menu.

Thanks!
Active Contributor
fyathyrio8
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
Message 2 of 11 (1,081 Views)

Re: Add Layer Description to Layer Dropdown list

03-23-2010 02:52 PM in reply to: vryarbe
LayerTableRecord has a Description property. I'm not sure if this is what's used in the layers dropdown, but it might be worth a shot.
*Michael Robertson
Message 3 of 11 (1,081 Views)

Re: Add Layer Description to Layer Dropdown list

03-24-2010 05:32 AM in reply to: vryarbe
Hello fyathyrio8,
LayerTableRecord.Description is the property you want to set for the description
that shows up in the Layer dialog.

> LayerTableRecord has a Description property. I'm not sure if this is
> what's used in the layers dropdown, but it might be worth a shot.
>
*Tony Tanzillo
Message 4 of 11 (1,081 Views)

Re: Add Layer Description to Layer Dropdown list

03-24-2010 05:55 AM in reply to: vryarbe
There's several layer controls.

One is on the Ribbon and another is on the layer toolbar.

Which are you using?

--
http://www.caddzone.com

AcadXTabs: MDI Document Tabs for AutoCAD
Supporting AutoCAD 2000 through 2010

http://www.acadxtabs.com

Email: string.Format("{0}@{1}.com", "tonyt", "caddzone");

wrote in message news:6358774@discussion.autodesk.com...
Is there a way in .net to add the layer description field (viewable in the Layer
Properties Manager menu) to the layer dropdown list? Our designers want to see
this information without opening the Layer Properties menu.

Thanks!
*Tony Tanzillo
Message 5 of 11 (1,081 Views)

Re: Add Layer Description to Layer Dropdown list

03-24-2010 06:05 AM in reply to: vryarbe
The OP asked how to get the description to show up in the layer dropdown.

Do you have a suggestion for that?

--
http://www.caddzone.com

AcadXTabs: MDI Document Tabs for AutoCAD
Supporting AutoCAD 2000 through 2010

http://www.acadxtabs.com

Email: string.Format("{0}@{1}.com", "tonyt", "caddzone");

"Michael Robertson" wrote in message
news:6359834@discussion.autodesk.com...
Hello fyathyrio8,
LayerTableRecord.Description is the property you want to set for the description
that shows up in the Layer dialog.

> LayerTableRecord has a Description property. I'm not sure if this is
> what's used in the layers dropdown, but it might be worth a shot.
>
Active Member
vryarbe
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-02-2009
Message 6 of 11 (1,081 Views)

Re: Add Layer Description to Layer Dropdown list

03-24-2010 02:34 PM in reply to: vryarbe
We are using the Classic AutoCAD layer dropdown,
(see attachment). Our designers have requested the
ability to view the layer description next to the layer
name to help them know which layer to choose.

Normally, I'd define the layer name to provide a
hint, but these files all have generic layer names
for post-processing reasons.

Thanks,
Vic Yarberry
*Owen Wengerd
Message 7 of 11 (1,081 Views)

Re: Add Layer Description to Layer Dropdown list

03-24-2010 03:59 PM in reply to: vryarbe
Your only option is to create a standalone custom layer control, as there is
no way to customize the built in layer control. There have been some pretty
impressive third party layering systems built over the years, so you may
want to spend some time researching how others have solved the problem.
--
Owen Wengerd
President, ManuSoft <>
VP Americas, CADLock, Inc. <>


wrote in message
news:6360360@discussion.autodesk.com...
> We are using the Classic AutoCAD layer dropdown,
> (see attachment). Our designers have requested the
> ability to view the layer description next to the layer
> name to help them know which layer to choose.
>
> Normally, I'd define the layer name to provide a
> hint, but these files all have generic layer names
> for post-processing reasons.
>
> Thanks,
> Vic Yarberry
>
*Tony Tanzillo
Message 8 of 11 (1,081 Views)

Re: Add Layer Description to Layer Dropdown list

03-24-2010 05:11 PM in reply to: vryarbe
In that case, I'm afraid you're out of luck, because
the toolbar layer dropdown is not customizable in
any way, short of subclassing it and completely
replicating item painting.

OTOH, it took me about 5 minutes to modify some
code I wrote for extending AutoCAD Data Extraction,
to make it happen with the layer dropdown on the
ribbon (see the attached screen grab), and you can
get it here:

http://www.caddzone.com/LayerHelper.zip



--
http://www.caddzone.com

AcadXTabs: MDI Document Tabs for AutoCAD
Supporting AutoCAD 2000 through 2010

http://www.acadxtabs.com

Email: string.Format("{0}@{1}.com", "tonyt", "caddzone");

wrote in message news:6360360@discussion.autodesk.com...
We are using the Classic AutoCAD layer dropdown,
(see attachment). Our designers have requested the
ability to view the layer description next to the layer
name to help them know which layer to choose.

Normally, I'd define the layer name to provide a
hint, but these files all have generic layer names
for post-processing reasons.

Thanks,
Vic Yarberry
Valued Mentor
ralstogj
Posts: 608
Registered: ‎10-01-2006
Message 9 of 11 (598 Views)

Re: Add Layer Description to Layer Dropdown list

01-25-2012 02:02 AM in reply to: vryarbe

Hi

 

Did any one download Tony's example code who could post it here or email it to me as the link no longer works and his site is not active anymore.:smileysad:

 

 

Regards

Justin Ralston
http://c3dxtreme.blogspot.com/
Distinguished Mentor
andrewpuller3811
Posts: 772
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 10 of 11 (554 Views)

Re: Add Layer Description to Layer Dropdown list

01-29-2012 03:11 AM in reply to: ralstogj

The original as downloaded from tony's site.

 

If this fixed your issue, click on "Accept as Solution"

Andrew Puller
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
Intel core i7 2600 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB Ram
Civil 3d 2013 64bit
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.