Navisworks General Discussion

Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
DuncanBrannan82
Posts: 593
Registered: ‎02-11-2007
Message 1 of 8 (1,691 Views)

Whats happened to NWDOUT & NWNAVIGATOR in Navisworks Manage 2012

1691 Views, 7 Replies
08-02-2011 05:00 PM

Hi,

 

I'm seeking some clarification...

 

I understand that the command 'NWDOUT' has been removed from the Civil 3D/ Navisworks Manage Interoperable workflow due to licencing issues. Has NWNAVIGATOR been removed also?

 

I currently have a copy of x64 Bit Civil 3D 2011 and 2012 on my machine with Navisworks Manage 2012 installed. In Civil 3D 2011 i can type in NWLOAD and everything appears to be fine. Same command in Civil 3D 2012 but get the 'unknown commad' issue. Why is this? Navisworks Manage 2012 was installed after both versions of Civil 3D...

 

If i was to load the *.arx manually what should i be looking for? All i can see is an export version .arx, which doesnt include NWNAVIGATOR, does anyone have any advice? Ami missing something doing a manual install?

 

Adding the .arx enables 'NWLOAD' and the 'NWOPT', 'NWCOUT' and 'NWOPTA.

 

What id expect is when installing Navisworks Manage 2012, it should associate itself with both versions of Civil 3D. Should that be the case?

 

Is it worth in my deployment images including Navisworks Exporters as a seperate install once the Civil deployment has been installed or repair / reinstall the Navisworks Manage Image after a new AutoCAD / Civil install?

 

Regards,

 

Duncan

 

If my post was helpful to you, please could you give "Kudos" and/or mark the "Accept as Solution" button(s) below. Thanks in Advance!

Duncan Brannan Send DuncanBrannan82 a Private Message
Employee
JeffH_ADSK
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Message 2 of 8 (1,675 Views)

Re: Whats happened to NWDOUT & NWNAVIGATOR in Navisworks Manage 2012

08-03-2011 04:58 AM in reply to: DuncanBrannan82

Hi Duncan,

 

Navigator is indeed still part of Navisworks. It's bundled as a NET plugin, and should be located in the root directory of your AutoCAD vertical (of type DLL, not ARX). You can load it as you would any other NET plugin if for some reason the installer has failed to provide registration.

 

On that subject, the Navisworks installer can only install exporters for AutoCAD verticals it detects at install time. So if you install Civil 3D after Navisworks, it will not add exporters. A repair and then selecting the new plugins to add should solve this.

 

If the installer is still failing to find Civil 3D 2012 as a valid install target to update, I would recommend opening a support case so that this can be followed up.

 

Hope that helps,

 

Jeff



Senior Software Engineer
Navisworks
Autodesk Ltd.
*Expert Elite*
DuncanBrannan82
Posts: 593
Registered: ‎02-11-2007
Message 3 of 8 (1,662 Views)

Re: Whats happened to NWDOUT & NWNAVIGATOR in Navisworks Manage 2012

08-03-2011 11:30 AM in reply to: JeffH_ADSK

Jeff,

 

Thats great, thanks for clearing things up...

 

It does look as though when Navisworks Manage 2012 has been installed it hasnt automatically set up the dll for nwnavigator in Civil 3D 2012 but has in 2011. Just out of curiosity whats the name of the dll so i can search and confirm this.

 

Would you also know the paths also for 32 and 64 Bit?

 

Finally, i have AutoCAD 2011 and Civil 3D 2011 confuse the Navisworks Installer? Obviously Civil is built on AutoCAD but on my machine i have 2 versions. One using a licence of Civil and the other using standalone.

 

Regards,

 

Duncan

If my post was helpful to you, please could you give "Kudos" and/or mark the "Accept as Solution" button(s) below. Thanks in Advance!

Duncan Brannan Send DuncanBrannan82 a Private Message
*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 719
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 4 of 8 (1,571 Views)

Re: Whats happened to NWDOUT & NWNAVIGATOR in Navisworks Manage 2012

08-18-2011 06:47 AM in reply to: JeffH_ADSK

Whats the name of the .Net dll to load for Navigator?

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Plant 3d Wish list: https://plant3d.uservoice.com/
*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 719
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 5 of 8 (1,564 Views)

Re: Whats happened to NWDOUT & NWNAVIGATOR in Navisworks Manage 2012

08-18-2011 07:01 AM in reply to: dave.wolfe

Never mind.  NwNavigator.dll.

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Plant 3d Wish list: https://plant3d.uservoice.com/
Active Member
mmhill
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-27-2006
Message 6 of 8 (1,484 Views)

Re: Whats happened to NWDOUT & NWNAVIGATOR in Navisworks Manage 2012

08-30-2011 01:49 PM in reply to: DuncanBrannan82

This is a problem with plain Autocad as well.  All Navisworks menu picks work except for NWD Export.  Even Export Options work.  NWDOUT is "Unknow Command".  The ARX and the CUIX are loaded properly.  What is the problem???

Product Support
dembkod
Posts: 575
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 7 of 8 (1,473 Views)

Re: Whats happened to NWDOUT & NWNAVIGATOR in Navisworks Manage 2012

08-31-2011 10:11 AM in reply to: mmhill

mmhill,

 

Hello. NWDOUT is no longer a function available in the exporters, you will need to use NWCOUT.

 

There are a few functions you can utilize from within the AutoCADs.

 

If Navisworks is installed alongside the AutoCAD installation, you will have:

NWNAVIGATOR – to access the Navigator window in your AutoCAD instance.

NWLOAD – To access the Navisworks Switchback function. You manipulate your model in Navisworks and can switchback to a connected DWG model in AutoCAD to fix any issues.

 

With the exporters installed you also will have:

NWCOUT – Export your model to NWC format

NWOPT – check your exporter options

 

If these do not appear in your installation, it could be the order with which you installed the program. Navisworks installs these modules during the installation of the application, so if you install Navisworks before AutoCAD, it has nowhere to install the functions. You would uninstall and reinstall Navisworks to prime the installation of the functions.

 

Thank you for participating in our community!

 

David Dembkoski       

 

 

Product Support Specialist

Autodesk Product Support

 

 

http://beyonddesign.typepad.com/

 

 



David Dembkoski
Active Member
mmhill
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-27-2006
Message 8 of 8 (1,471 Views)

Re: Whats happened to NWDOUT & NWNAVIGATOR in Navisworks Manage 2012

08-31-2011 11:04 AM in reply to: dembkod

This discussion thread explains what has happen to NWOUT.

"Navis Manage 2012 NWDOUT will not work"

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Navisworks/Navis-Manage-2012-NWDOUT-will-not-work/m-p/3033672...

 

I have to agree with the last user in this thread.  The export was working great for us from Simulate 2011.  Autodesk, once again, has complicated our design process instead of making it more efficient.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API