Community
Navisworks Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Navisworks Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Navisworks topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using Navisworks for Coordination (Advanced)

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
smbrennan
2421 Views, 6 Replies

Using Navisworks for Coordination (Advanced)

Ok, before I begin, either the new structure of the forums prevents me from easily searching (I liked the Autofill, can't seem to get that working), or there are no posts relevant to the question I have. So, here it is:

I've been using Navisworks for a couple of years now. However, at my company we've always had one person on a project at a time. Recently, I joined in on a project doing some 3D coordination. I've noticed that both myself and another user can open the same NWF at the same time, with no "Read Only" option like you would normally get for a DWG file, or any other file from MS Office.

With that being said, can anyone explain how Navisworks is supporting multiple users to open the same file simultaneously? What happens if I merge a file in, and save? Or someone else creates a new clash test, item overrides, etc. I can't seem to find anything.

Thanks,

Shawn

Shawn B.

|   
To help improve Autodesk Products, please Click Here to Vote for ideas and submit your own.
6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7

How are your Options -> Model -> Performance -> On Load "close NWC/NWD files on Load ?
It should be turned ON in Navisworks Freedom, but ON if you want to edit an NWD in Simulate or Manage.
Message 3 of 7

First off, was there a typo there? You said to turn the settings ON for two scenarios, where it sounds like you meant ON vs OFF. Please confirm that.

Secondly, I think I'm more confused than before asking the question. I'm not 100% sure that answered my question. I didn't know what that box did, until reading this post: